Day 112 - a hard ride to Rankasbitung or is it Panancangan? - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2023

Day 112 - a hard ride to Rankasbitung or is it Panancangan?

It's late, and I'm sitting in room 51 of the Hotel Kharisma. It's a foul dungeon. The sheets sport any number of holes - cigarettes, of course. A window doesn't close, the fan works on one setting only and squeaks, while wires dangle from the ceiling, suggesting that the room once had a TV. Geckos (good) and roaches (not so good) guard their home ranges. The traffic is loud. I didn't look at the room before signing up. The price, along with the fact that the place has a pool and that I was given water and a breakfast ticket, implied that it was on par with some very nice places I have stayed. It's not; it's a disgrace. And so why am I here? There's a simple answer: I am riding a bicycle, had done 95 km, didn't want to do 20 more and this is the town's only hotel. I arrived back from dinner not very long ago. What did I eat? Masakan Padang - the stuff that sits there for who knows how long. It's just like the last 100 Masakan Padangs.

The tasteful lobby
Heart 4 Comment 1
Ian DouglasClassy looking place.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
A sulphur-crested cockatoo near the pool screams. I wanted to take it home.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A wall in room 51
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantHopefully not YOUR blood Ian ?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
The en-suite
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

You may already have guessed that this stuff came at the end of a long, hard day.

I was up early and after taking a few photos of Daisy's house, finished yesterday's blog, having lost a good bit of my latest entry last night. There are a few glitches on Cycleblaze.

The outdoor kitchen
Heart 4 Comment 0
The front; there's a lot of plants squashed into a small space.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Daisy IrawanHa! I should have told you to clean my kitchen and sweep the garden before sneaking to take pictures 😂😂😂
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

With that done, I ate a very good breakfast of tempeh, vegetables and rice, with bananas for dessert, prepared by Daisy. The last chore was to inflate my tyres a little.

There are some people, I am sure, who finish their ride and check their bike immediately. I'm not one of them and, as I was putting some air in my tyres, I noticed a broken spoke - the first on this bike in about 65,000 km. Changing it was quick but it still held me up, so much so that it was 9.30 when we took some photos and said goodbye. It had been a good time.

Heart 4 Comment 1
Daisy IrawanI am sure, my neighbors have taken tons of paparazi pictures of you before storming the air 😁
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was 10, and very hot when I reached the main road that I would follow all day. Whenever the road passed through a town, gridlock occurred, until I was about 35 km into the day.

This makes the air look reasonable. It wasn't! I could hardly see the volcano ahead.
Heart 4 Comment 0
At least a train caused this gridlock.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was back in that all too familiar territory of exhaust fumes, noise and, especially out of towns, horrendous roadside garbage. It's dumped and, at some time, someone throws a match at it. I'm rather familiar now with the smell of burning plastic and coconut shells. The other thing, even more prominent today, was cigarette advertising.

OK lads, who is going to clean up the garbage behind you?
Heart 4 Comment 0

I may harp on about the garbage but it's my way of coping with it. If organisations, like Lonely Planet, had mentioned it decades ago, there's a chance that something may have been done.

Where would Indonesia be now if not for fags?
Heart 4 Comment 0

As usual, there are always things that catch the eye.

I have no idea whether the party these women are dancing for is good or bad. I'm sure someone will comment. They were having fun.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantIt's a pity that bus doesn't look like it would run Ian!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
From the bamboo series: bamboo stairs on a building site.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Ian DouglasOH&S Eden compared with the scaffold; the steps seem inefficiently spaced.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Terrific use of the warning banana leaf propped up by bamboo.
Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantThe Indonesian version of the European's red triangle
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Appropriate on this day of the Women's World Cup final. Sorry, I have cheated: the female goalkeeper is really just a pedestrian!
Heart 5 Comment 0
I sought the shade of this bamboo grove and noticed the plant in the next image.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMight be voodoo lily.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/427895-Amorphophallus-variabilis/browse_photos?place_id=6966
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

It was one tedious day and I didn't get a truck or a bicycle of the day. But, I know the bicycle. It was one, with drop handlebars, ridden by a child. If it were one size bigger I think it would have been two big for him to ride, but it wasn't and he blew past me in heavy traffic going up a hill.

I did get a vendor of the day.

These fine women sold me snake fruit and papaya.
Heart 4 Comment 0

There's no doubt that the highlight of the day had nothing to do with cycling and everything to do with Indonesia and religion. Daisy sent me a message saying that she had to write a political statement, about my visit, to the community chief. Of course, I replied "what is a political statement"? She didn't quite answer that question, but instead told me her response to the community:  that I am an angel, who has been doing a lot to help Indonesians with education. She then included Islamic teachings, such as, Allah has reduced many obligations for travelers including the need for fasting; Allah helps and listens to the prayers of travelers; Mohammad taught the importance of caring for travelers. Daisy also told them that she knows both Cora and Kah Ying; she's aware that this is a serious issue.

I'd say to the community that, if you were peering through the window, you would have been ecstatic about our correct behaviour. I thought that this stuff was the domain of Saudi Arabia et al. 

My mind jumped to the atrocities committed by the Indonesians in Timor Leste, often targeting women. Of course, they also exterminated untold Indonesian communists. 

The next couple of weeks are not going to be easy. I never did work out whether I am in Rankasbitung or Panancangan. What I do know, however, is that if I can teach a hotel a thing or two about cleaning, they have very serious problems.

Today's ride: 95 km (59 miles)
Total: 7,826 km (4,860 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Daisy IrawanThere are some prohibitions in the majority of religions:
1. zinah (which we didn't do),
2. making prejudice on others, look down on others, slandering others, gossiping, making false reports, intimidating, and inciting others to support their evil minds. These last one, some of my neighbors who probably have never seen a westerner within 1 km distance but you, did, out of their fear and misunderstanding.
But, no worries. Just go on with our lives and enjoy every bit of Indonesia which are still enjoyable, such as some sweet, cheap, and refreshing pineapples along the way. 😃
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Daisy IrawanDaisy, great comments! Cleaning up before photos creates a lie.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff AlexanderHi Ian from Jeff, Kara, Isla and Luna.
Long time readers, first time commenters …
We are learning so much from your travels - each day’s entry is our bedtime story and we love it. The girls are big fans of bike/tree/vendor of the day (and roadkill pics!). Your broken spoke had us worried as we once broke 8 on our snail bike (long story) and that did not end well. Wishing you all the best for the final stretch and thanks again for your wonderful insights.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Jeff AlexanderDear Jeff, Kara, Isla and Luna, what a wonderful comment! These make my day, especially when the going is a little tough. You do, however, put pressure on me. I can always get a vendor but other things can be tricky - roadkill in Indonesia, for example. I'll try a little harder! It's not uncommon for spokes to go at once, especially on the drive side of a derailleur. Fortunately, I have a Rohloff and thus a symmetrical wheel. I suspect my bottom bracket will die but that's fine. Just out of interest, where do you live? Ian
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff AlexanderTo Ian WallisHi Ian, it’s Kara (‘ANU’ Kara) and Jeff from Canberra. Also, we've just finished a jar of your honey so our children want to return the jar when you get back and say g’day. Wishing you great energy and ‘good legs’ from Downer.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Jeff AlexanderSorry Jeff, the surname caught me. Plus I'm a bit thick!!!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian DouglasI have commenced the honey you kindly gave me on your Jerra training ride. Very flavoursome; do you recall the flower source?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian DouglasRangkas Bitung on my Periplus map.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago