Into Bavaria: Imst to Schwangau - Around the Alps - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2022

Into Bavaria: Imst to Schwangau

There are two ways to get to the German border from Imst: over the Fernpass, or over the Hahntennjoch.  The former is less high, but the road was said to be unpleasantly busy, and all accounts of the off-road alternative suggested that it would be quite hard work on anything other than a mountain bike.  There's a shuttle option this way too, but I'd left it too late to book it. All of which made route planning for today fairly simple: Hahntennjoch it is.

The weather had broken overnight, and things were looking distinctly murky outside.  The plus side of this, though, was that it seemed likely to deter the hordes of motorbikers who (the internet told me) liked to flock to the Hahntennjoch on sunny days. No danger of sunshine this morning, so I was good to go.

No sunshine, but at least no Gewitter (yet...)
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was a steep climb to get to the edge of Imst, but after that things eased off a little bit, as the road zig-zagged upwards through the forest.  

It felt like I was cycling into a scene from one of those Scandi-noir murder mysteries...
Heart 7 Comment 0

Then, the views opened up as the road snaked along the side of the valley.  It was very atmospheric, if also increasingly chilly: I had to stop to put on a few more layers, I think for the first time (when going uphill) on this trip.

Looking ahead. (Where I grew up, the appropriate phrase for this scene would be: 'It's looking a bit black over Bill's mother's...')
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking back. Those clouds are chasing me...
Heart 5 Comment 1
Keith AdamsDragged along, no doubt, in the turbulent wake you leave behind as you rocket up the pass.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Getting towards the top. (Those scree slopes are why the road closes in noisy weather...)
Heart 7 Comment 0

Just before the summit the rain started to come down quite hard.  Luckily, though, the top was marked by a particularly elegant, and solid, wooden bus-shelter, which provided the ideal place to sit things out (and to put on even more layers).

Not only did the rain soon stop, but as I started to descend down into the Lech valley the sun inched back into view.  It was still a bit soggy, because the road was so wet, but the views were wonderful.

Descending to the Lechtal. I can see why the bikers like this road.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Still heading down...
Heart 7 Comment 0

Eventually, I made it back down to the valley floor.  My first attempt to join the Lech radweg was scuppered by a closed bridge across the river -- I could wave at some equally (probably more!) stuck cyclists on the other side, but none of us dared to ignore the stern 'Danger To Life' signs.  But the valley road, to which I retreated, wasn't very busy, and had the advantage, too, of taking me past a very nice inn in Stanzach, where I stopped for some fortifying and warming lunch (also adding them to my list of Nice Places on whose seat cushions I've left a damp patch: sorry, Nice Stanzach Inn...)

Shortly after that, I did find a way to get onto the cycle path, which provided a beautifully smooth run down-river, interrupted only by pauses to shed layers of clothing as the sun re-established itself and the temperatures rose.

Lovely riding along the Lech.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Trailside companions.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I was heading into fairly familiar territory now, so could start to tick off some landmarks: here's that patch of terrible lumpy gravel just before the border; there's the very good ice-cream kiosk just after the border (organic bilberry ice-cream: it would be a crime not to stop...); here's the place in Füssen where I reliably lose track of the cycle route; ah, and there's That Castle...

Rings a bell...
Heart 5 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMy favorite castle. We lived in Germany for 2 years (76-78) and spent most weekends travelling and seeing castles all over Europe.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

In reaching Schwangau, I'd also reached the official end of the trip: in one piece, but I think significantly over the 47.5 hour estimated time.  But of course, I still had to find my way back to the UK, so this journal isn't (quite) over yet...

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 71 km (44 miles)
Total: 789 km (490 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Scott AndersonWhat a beautiful, atmospheric ride to end on. Congratulations!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonYour photos are stunning! You sure are tough. You mentioning leaving a wet spot on a seat cushion reminded me of when we climbed Col de Madeleine in the French Alps. The weather was fine but I got so sweaty by the time we reached the summit that I took my exercise bra off in the cafe and put it on the wood stove to dry and left it behind. I’m sorry to see the end of your tour but look forward to following your future tours!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterAn amazing journey! I had great fun reliving my ride around the Alps and very much enjoyed your variations. Fantastic photos, wonderful narrative - thanks for sharing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Polly LowTo Rachael AndersonThis really made me laugh! I wonder if it's still there...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsI find myself becoming a Polly Low fan boy. Well done!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago