Introduction: the Master (?) Plan - Around the Alps - CycleBlaze

Introduction: the Master (?) Plan

It's the end of the summer (in the UK, anyway), the students are about to descend on the town where I live and work, and I need to escape before I face up to the year to come.  In other words: time for a long bike ride!

This is the fourth year in a row that I've been to the Alps in the late summer, and this trip is a little bit of a mopping-up operation: riding some roads and visiting some places that I'd hoped to get to in previous trips, but which covid restrictions made inaccessible (in September 2020, UK travellers couldn't go to Austria; this time last year, Italy was difficult to access). Plus a few rides which I've been enviously reading about here on Cycleblaze and fancied trying for myself.

Here's the general idea, anyway: start in Salzburg, then head south, turn right, then back over the Alps and finish up in Germany.  Cycle.travel thinks it will take me 47 and a half hours.  I think that's perhaps a little bit optimistic...

Heart 0 Comment 0

I don't take a tablet with me on tour (and also, to be honest, I'm too tired from riding to do much else -- how do you live-bloggers manage it?), so I'm writing this up after my return.  I'll try not to give away too many spoilers though. (Other than the fact that, obviously, I made it back in one piece.)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Scott AndersonHow exciting! I can’t wait to see how this went for you. I especially want to know if you fit it into 47.5 hours. That’s just a long weekend, right?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Polly LowTo Scott AndersonExactly! With half an hour spare for a tea break…
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierGreat! Looking forward to following your adventure! Sorry we missed our meetup!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago