NEW BW PICTURES - Not just the tourist attractions - France again - this time Alsace - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2022

NEW BW PICTURES - Not just the tourist attractions

Heart 0 Comment 0

I am usually awake at six, today I slept until past seven. Janos was awake but thought I needed my sleep so he didn't disturb me. By the time we finished our very good breakfast that we had bought yesterday at Carrefour and were ready to roll, it was already nine. 

Yesterday we traveled to the east, today we explored what there was to see to the west of Molsheim. Our first stop was in Mutzig, again a pretty Alsatian town with traditional architecture. First photo stop was for a picture of the town gate. That's when I discovered that my camera wasn't working. Good thing I have two cameras with me, my new Lumix and my big Sony Alpha. Instead of simplifying things by just having a small travel camera with me, which was my intention, I now carry two cameras! I just couldn't give up the features of my Sony and it performs so well in low light situations which the Lumix doesn't. The Lumix on the other hand has an amazing zoom and makes excellent close up as well, and of course it is a very good all around camera. Now it is my only camera and my cargo bag has gotten lighter. Thanks to Susan and Scott for the inspiration to invest in that little camera!

Town gate, Mutzig
Heart 6 Comment 0
Seen on many house fronts, the Tricolore and the EU flag
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Mutzig
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Mutzig
Heart 5 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThe flowers are lovely to see! :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

After that we rode on the outskirts of newer towns and resedential areas, sometimes on bike paths next to highways, and alternately through attractive countryside. In the valley of the Ruche you never have the feeling that you are miles from nowhere. There is a highway, a trainline, the river, farmland and industry. 

First the rural pictures:

Share the road
Heart 3 Comment 0
Zoomed in on another stork- there were five storks in this field and five in the next. Janos wanted to make a video with his drone, but they all flew away and he felt bad about intruding in their space.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We had to take a detour around pasture land.
Heart 3 Comment 0
We had some nice views to the vineyards on the hills where I actually would have prefered to be cycling.
Heart 3 Comment 0
White on blue
Heart 5 Comment 0
A historic stone quarry known for supplying the area with red sandstone for building.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Ruche River
Heart 5 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltNice with the flowers on the bridge! :) Unusual!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
We had a few short hills but nothing serious.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Enough quaint houses, traditional architecture and pretty views, now for industrial esthetics.

Pairs
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Silo symmetry
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shiny surfaces
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shape repitition
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Texture and crumble
Heart 5 Comment 1
Scott AndersonThat’s great. I wonder what those hanging tatters are.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

A few more miscellaneous shots from the ride back.

We passed through a park with an outdoor photo exhibition.
Heart 9 Comment 0
We stopped again in Mutzig on the way back, once known for its brewery. Here a wall of the abandoned brewery.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A spiraling bicycle ramp to help cyclists navigate the intersection of a busy highway
Heart 5 Comment 0

A block away from our hotel is a Carrefour where we stopped for some picnic food to eat in our air-con room. It was about one and the temperature 32C.

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 276 km (171 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonSorry you are getting such hot weather!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rachael AndersonIt has been really hot, up in the 90's. We are glad we have a home base and can get back indoors for the afternoon and don't have to wait for check-in somewhere. I find the heat very tiring. I am ok riding (thanks to e-support) but feel exhausted when we get back. Which is ok because I can take a nap. We didn't know it when planning the trip, but staying in each place for several days has been perfect for coping with the heat.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago