A surprise in Munster - France again - this time Alsace - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2022

A surprise in Munster

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today we set our sights on Munster, a ride following the Munster Valley  - once we get out of Colmar that is. It takes about eight kilometers to get into the country where we have a peaceful bike path. While I ride I do the simple mathematics in my head, the distance on urban streets is not quite half of the total distance but almost. It is 2/5 of the ride, which I think is too much and am not looking forward to the return ride but I see no other alternatives on the map. In the Internet I read that the Munster Valley is one of the prettiest valleys in the Vosges mountains.

All the way to Munster I don't take a single picture. Nothing caught my eye and I just pedaled, feeling a bit grumpy about the route so far. Then entering Munster I heard loud clattering and it didn't take long for me to discover the source  - storks everywhere! I don't think I have ever seen such a large stork population. I just love getting shots of storks although in recent years they are not so rare, I must admit. So first come many stork pictures.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltWow, very cool - a stork on every pinnacle! :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

In front of the neo-romanesque protestant church (1870) market stands are set up, it's market day. Here, too, there are many tourists. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

From the Market Square we turn through an archway following a sign for ruins. Ruins are always good for a few pictures, especially when I get to include a stork or two.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Not much left of the original abbey
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The beginning of the return trip is on the other side of the Fecht River. Again I didn't expect much, but it turned out to be the best part of the ride and we were able to get a very positive impression of the Munster Valley. Although I can't really compare, I am not sure it is the prettiest valley of the Vosges.

Returning along the Fecht
Heart 2 Comment 0
Munster Valley
Heart 3 Comment 0
And vineyards
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

We again had our  picnic lunch when we got back around one. The supermarket has little pre-packaged salads which taste fine. We then retired to our room and left the streets of Colmar to the other tourists. We have seen little more of Colmar than the streets we walk to our evening meals or what we hastily cycle through on our routes to the countryside. Shocking! Tomorrow is our last chance.

Today's ride: 43 km (27 miles)
Total: 474 km (294 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonHow great to see so many storks. Great photos!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago