Day 8 - Royalton to GMNF - Alex Bikes (Portsmouth to Syracuse) 2023 - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2023

Day 8 - Royalton to GMNF

Forecast called for afternoon rain so I put in a few miles early. Made it to Stockton and took refuge in their meetinghouse/church just before the skies opened. I’m pretty lucky to have stayed dry on this trip. The only rain has come when I’ve been able to find shelter from it.

By the time the rain slowed the sun was low in the sky. I raced along the ACA route through Rochester and Hancock to make my campsite before dark. I was aiming for one of the indicated spots above the Texas Falls picnic area in the Green Mountain National Forest. Everything in the gorge was green and damp and the falls were really flowing. I hung my hammock in the fading light and settled in for a chilly night a few yards from the river. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltRed eft stage of an eastern newt. I always enjoy finding them with their impressive coloration.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eastern_newt
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Alex K.To Bill ShaneyfeltThanks Bill. I meant to look up what that was. You read my mind!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Why would I pack a tent and a hammock? I wasn’t sure which would work better. Was it worth pedaling an additional 4 pounds up every hill? I’ve been asking myself that! Hammock is very nice to have on wet/rough/sloping ground though.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0