Day 9 - GMNF to Fair Haven - Alex Bikes (Portsmouth to Syracuse) 2023 - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2023

Day 9 - GMNF to Fair Haven

From my campsite I had to descend 450ft to Rt. 125 before ascending over 1000ft to Middlebury Gap. I’ve been walking some of the long, steep hills in Vermont and I definitely walked the upper stretch of this one. On top I crossed the Long Trail before a well-earned couple miles of downhill coasting. 

In Middlebury I grabbed a coffee at a cafe to warm up then continued along the ACA route to the Fort Ticonderoga ferry. It was pleasant riding through farm county and especially nice as the sun came out.

I waited at the ferry landing as the boat traversed the lake towards me, but apparently they didn’t officially open for the season until the next day. Today was just preparation for the season.

Back on the road, I set a course for Fair Haven, but the hills and sun were tiring. I was a few miles outside of town when I stumbled upon a place to camp and strung up my hammock. Fell asleep listening to coyote howls.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0