Day 19 - Rome to Syracuse (the end of the long and winding road) - Alex Bikes (Portsmouth to Syracuse) 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2023

Day 19 - Rome to Syracuse (the end of the long and winding road)

Fifty miles to go! Having the end in sight makes you want to enjoy every last inch of trail and I did today. More quiet old canal trail made for easy cruising into CNY. Breaks in a cool, silty Cowaselon Creek and in Canastoda (where a fishing derby was ongoing).

Lots of people out for day rides on this early summer Sunday and it was nice to share the path with so many. I enjoyed the fitness I’d built up too. I spent most of this day and last speeding along in The Tank’s 52-tooth big chainring, something I couldn’t do a few weeks ago (at least not for very long).

Took a slow pedal through Syracuse proper and particularly enjoyed the Creek Walk which connects the city with the multi-use paths around Ononadaga Lake to the immediate north. There I met Melvin (@melvin_on_tour_) of Hamburg, Germany who was on the last legs of his round-the-world bike trip. We chatted a bit before parting ways. 

I dragged out the last few miles of riding; trying to savor the lake’s cool breeze but, like all things, bike paths end. 

Spun the last few miles to Liverpool where I was received with a hot shower, ample pasta, and much love. A run for soft-serve ice cream at dusk capped off the day and trip. 

Thanks to those who’ve followed along with my humble trip on cycleblaze. I may re-write some of this in the next few weeks after I’m home, but in the meantime I hope you enjoyed the photos and perhaps found some inspiration.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Yo, dog. I heard you like boats…
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0