Day 18 - Utica to Rome - Alex Bikes (Portsmouth to Syracuse) 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2023

Day 18 - Utica to Rome

I’m writing this a few days after the fact:

Today I woke up from the hotel well-rested but lethargic. Once I got my legs moving however, it was easy going. The weather had broken a bit last night and today was a full 15degrees cooler than the last few.

I’d be staying with family in Syracuse and made the decision to make that the end-point of the trip. Knowing that I only had 80 miles to cover in the next two days contributed to the relaxing feel of the day.

Aside from a stretch through Rome - which I used for a grocery stop - this section of the trail is very quiet. It stays away from main roads and is generally along the quiet, shady old canal. 10/10 riding. Saw four turtles today too.

I weighed pedaling on to Green Lakes State Park, but a few cyclists had recommended Lock 21 as a nice camp spot. I got there early and read in my hammock for a while before setting up my tent. 

Fellow campers included a couple of guys bringing a sailboat from Connecticut to Ithaca and a bike tourer named Mason who rolled in late and high off of a 100 mile day. We chatted for a while about bikes, music, and his epic touring plans which he hopes will bring him from Maine to Alaska to Argentina.

Full moon tonight and comfortably chilly sleep too.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSnapping turtle. They rarely leave water except to bask on logs, etc. This one is a seasonal exception when females are looking for a good nesting location.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_snapping_turtle
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0