Day 16 - Little Falls to Utica - Alex Bikes (Portsmouth to Syracuse) 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2023

Day 16 - Little Falls to Utica

After yesterday’s troubles with the sun and pollen I was more prepared for the elements today. With several different OTC allergy medications and a set of highly fashionable wrap-around UV-blocking sunglasses (to go over my prescription sunglasses) I departed Little Falls.

The early part of the day was great. I was feeling strong and quickly arrived at the Ilion Marina where I stopped for lunch and met a trio of bikers from Reading, PA. 

Approaching Utica, however my eyes began to bother me again. I looked for a shady place to rest but there were few options. I  finally found some shade under a bike bridge crossing a creek. Hung my hammock by the cool water and read/napped until the sun went down some.

My plan for this trip has always been to keep riding as long as I’m having fun. Well, the past few days haven’t been the most fun due to the intense sun and allergies. Before I pack it in however, I’m going to use points for a 2-night hotel stay in Utica. The weather is supposed to break somewhat tomorrow which could be just what I need. A rest day out of the sun would be helpful too. 

Animal spotting today: Two geese with 41(!) goslings, garter snake, snapping turtle

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fashion icon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltStay away from the bitey end!

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/39682-Chelydra-serpentina
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Alex K.To Bill ShaneyfeltAs cute and playful as it looks, I kept my distance. This is a very zoomed-in photo!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0