Day 4: The gods are smiling - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2013

Day 4: The gods are smiling

I must have made the gods happy somehow, because I woke up to a bit of a tail wind! I definitely made the right decision to get a hotel last night, because conditions were just about perfect this morning. But thats not the only reason...

I asked two people last night about the distance to the campground i had planned to ride to. "12 miles" said one, and "20 miles" said the other. Well, it was 30 miles! I definitely would have been grumpy and moany had I tried to ride it last night.

So today I landed in Grand Junction and even got a bit more bike path today. But that is not why I am sure that the gods, for some reason, like me again. It's because, added to all that, I stopped to eat at a restaurant that has wifi, complementery shrimp cocktails on Saturday night, liver and onions for dinner, the Stanley Cup Finals on TV (even though I am an LA kings fan) they let me store my bike in the locked patio while I eat so I don't have to worry about it and can relax, there is a gaggle of cops eating a few tables down, so no one will come near my bike anyway, AND homemade pie! Heaven! And to think I didnt even have to become a nun for all of these good things to happen.

I anticipate being without wifi for a while so dont worry if I miss a day or two with the journal. Some of you will get my location on the SPOT, or As my brother Tom calls it, my Death Ray. EIther way, you (or some of you anyway) will know where I am.

Now THIS is a handsome man! Though he appears to have a splitting headache.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The California Zephyr in the wild
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was right in a neighborhood. It makes you wonder about all that happened, right where you live, in past years.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My campsite. It's real purty, huh!?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 203 miles (327 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0