Memories - Aimless - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2013

Memories

Do you remember that feeling as a kid, on the last day of school before summer break, when the minutes ticked way, agonizingly slow? And then, at last, the final bell.

Pure joy!

Especially in the years between ages 8 and 15, when you were old enough to wander the world alone (in those days) but didn't have the responsibilities of a job, and all that came with it.

I don't know about you, but in the days of no internet, and three network channels showing nothing worth watching during the day beyond Let's Make A Deal, Speed Racer, and the occasional major league Baseball game, my friends and I thought it much more fun to ride our bikes to the local swimming pool, or play baseball, or Wiffle Ball, or...

A total sense of freedom.

And not that it matters, but we picked our own teams. A home run was over the neighbor's fence in left field and into the bushes on a fly in right--obviously, in the bushes on a hop was a ground rule double, which I'm sure I don't need to explain. Of course the roof was in play on a foul ball. A baseball through the window now and then was just part of it. Disputes were usually settled with a do-over, or a surprisingly rare fight, that usually resulted in a do-over. Funny, there wasn't a grown up in sight to make us play fair. But, I digress...

My point is, I'm feeling a little like that now. Free, or close to it. Final exams are almost over. Grades are almost complete. My glazed over eyes are clearing, recovering from semester meetings. It's almost like when I was a kid. I'm ready to escape. Escape on my bike!

The last day of school is coming. The final bell feels like minutes away.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0