What's the point? - Aimless - CycleBlaze

May 20, 2013

What's the point?

All of my recent summer bike trips have had a purpose or goal, or a time constraint. Ride across the United States, or in France, or Switzerland, and cram in as much as possible before I have to cram The Trucker into a cramped little suitcase to fly home.

Don't get me wrong, it's been fun. I've met challenges and saw and experienced great things. But this year I want to do something different. I want to ride in a place I really like without any goals, or timelines, or commitments. I want to be aimless.

I'm going to the desert southwest. Canyon country. The Grand Canyon. Monument Valley. Places like that. I've been to some of them (not on a bike), and rode through some areas while riding coast to coast. But I didn't have much time to site-see then because, well, I had to get from A to B lickity-split.

So this summer I'll wander, and site see, and day dream. Or maybe sit under a rock with a good book, and then wander some more... From there I will ride home, or until I feel like stopping, whichever comes first.

In trying to think up a theme I invariably come up with the question of, what's the point? I couldn't think of one and kept coming back to, do I really need a point? I don't think I do.

Therefore, I have decided that this trip will be pointless.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0