Day 3: Daoooh! - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2013

Day 3: Daoooh!

Well, i was hoping to be in a campground right on the Colorado river tonight. I had seen it from the train and it looked cool. Except I got a late start this morning (I had some errands to run) and around 1:00pm or so, the winds kicked up something fierce. I had been making good time until then, and after that it took me 2 hours to ride 15 miles! Cheech. And it wasn't because I was a big lump today. The ol'legs felt pretty good, believe it or not...

Anyway, After mile 48, I was told it was 20 more miles to the campground. It was only 4:00pm, I normally would have gone, but I mentioned in paragraph one about the headwinds.

It was then a hotel appeared. I went back and forth in my mind, "terrible headwinds, heat and misery, or a warm soft bed...terrible headwinds, heat and misery or a warm soft bed...". It went on like that for some time, perhaps, 8-seconds, until "warm, soft, bed" got the better of me.

And I gotta say, this place is nice. I wouldn't mind staying a few more weeks days.

I have to admit I didnt take many pictures today. Mostly I just lowered my head and swore, which the wind carried away behind me. But thats ok because I still feel like I am in the preliminary stages of the trip anyway. The best, the meat of the trip, will come in a couple more days. Not to mention that today was mostly I70 frontage roads. But that is another matter.

In the mean time tomorrow is another day, and I plan to get an earlier start to beat the winds.

Until then...

I had so many possible captions for this I just couldnt decide. Examples include... "I couldn't decide if I should place this picture #1 or #2" "This place must get pretty smelly down wind?" "Look, a porta potty grave yard" "All these porta potties and I don't even have to go." Honostly, this one is just too easy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coldest beer? Is that possible? Isn't like that like saying someone has bowled the best bowling game? I mean, I'm sure there is a certain temperature where beer freezes? So it can't get any lower than that. Besides, even if there could be a new "cold beer" record, this would surly be difficult to verify?
Heart 0 Comment 0
...because it would be wrong to ride in the mountains without at least one mountain picture.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 134 miles (216 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0