Day 33: Not so fast... - Aimless - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2013

Day 33: Not so fast...

It was time to get out'a Dodge, or in this case St. Dodge, I mean St. George.

I needed to be at the airport by noon to pick up my car. And really, I wanted to be there by 11am.

It was a good plan, renting a one way car. I had originally planned to ride back to Grand Junction and take the train home, thus bringing the trip full circle, or at least oval shape. But you may recall Bubble-Gate, re my tire, so that put a wrench in the works. It is not easy finding convenient, cost effective, transportation from St. George, so I lucked out with the car. It will take me 2 days to drive home, and the price of the car is only $40 a day. Even with gas it is on par with the train, cost wise, and cheaper if I get a sleeper on the train.

But that still leaves the small matter of riding to the airport. And I think the people who planned the location of the airport are the same ones who designed the bike lanes. It was 17 miles through hot, dry, desert...


I know the airport is here somewhere?
Heart 0 Comment 0
...I'll just keep going then...
...Is that the Arizona state line?...
...Yes, it is, but still no airport...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuh? What in the world does THAT sign mean?
Heart 0 Comment 0
...There it is, the St. George airport! WOO-HOOO!
Geez. Why don't you make it a little farther from town, why don't you?
Heart 0 Comment 0


After that it was simply a matter of turning on the satellite radio and stepping on the gas. I would be taking parts of the Extra-terrestrial highway, which is the route south of Highway 50 of Western Express fame. It was beautiful, actually. I really enjoyed the ride.

But the best part came in Rachel, at the Little A'Le'Inn restaurant. I had just pulled in when two touring cyclists were getting on their bikes!

Dave and Bethany have been on the road for 2 years(!), all over the world, and are now heading home to Alabama, and a normal life. They have Long Haul Truckers of course so they were clearly a class act.

We talked for a while. I asked about their trip, and the route and winds through Nevada, since I may want to ride the route someday. I gave them some tips on the Western Express, since I had ridden it 3 years ago.

They had spent 3 hours in the restaurant, cooling off, and were headed out, to the east, loaded down with water, with the plan to stealth camp in the night.

I wished them luck and drove off into the sunset...


The couple I met in Rachel, Nevada. They are heading home to Atlanta after 2 years on the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0

P.S. Dave and Beth's website is www.garthsontour.com

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 1,420 miles (2,285 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0