Day 34: Still Aimless, after all these days... - Aimless - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2013

Day 34: Still Aimless, after all these days...

Logically, you would think that this is it. My trip is over and its now time for all of us to go back to our boring lives, just going through the motions, meeting with our psychiatrists to cope with the loss, and waiting for the next tour.

But it won't be like that.

All along I had several ideas for ending the tour...

The first was to ride back to Grand Junction, and the train home, which you already know because I mentioned it on "Day 33".

The next was to ride across Nevada, and home. But that plan seemed decidedly unappealing as of late, what with the higher than expected temperatures, which every now and then sucked the life right out of me. The idea of slogging across the desert, alone, in the heat, with probably headwinds, did not inspire.

Option 3 was to take the train (from Grand Junction) to Reno, or Truckee, California, where I would ride home, aimlessly, through the mountains.

The last idea was to ride to Flagstaff (after the Grand Canyon), take the train to Santa Barbara and ride up the coast from there.

All that got fershnickled, of course, with Tire-Gate, and the unlikely St. George detour.


But, I can't just end it like this, driving off into the sunset, in a (gasp) CAR! That just won't do. So, I have planned a finale. It's off the cuff, which is only fitting with a title like "Aimless". And I think you should know, the way I will be getting to the start of The Finale will be bad-ass. Why? Well you'll just have to wait and see!

I won't be off for a few days. Why? Well I CAN'T TELL you or it will give it all away! Just sit tight.

In the mean time I will update maps and do some other housekeeping stuff on the journal. See you soon.

Until then...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0