Day 32: Spinning - Aimless - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2013

Day 32: Spinning

I solved the problem of the St. George bike lanes. I didn't ride on them. Much safer that way.

Instead, I spent the day spinning around St. George, on small surface streets and a series of bike paths that were surprisingly nice.

Once again it was wicked hot. St. George is even hotter than Zion since it is at a lower elevation. But I didn't have to be anywhere, or have any kind of agenda, so I just tooled around easy like, with little baggage.

You see tomorrow I am renting a car at the St. George airport and driving it back to California. There will be a little more riding after that though, so don't start feeling depressed yet...

But I mentioned the heat, and one of the paths followed the path of the Virgin River, the same river that runs through Zion. When I came around one curve it looked like a giant pool party! Who needs a swimming pool when you have a river!

I was tempted to join them but decided to just dip my head and shirt in instead. After that, and a cold drink at a gas station, I made my way back to the hotel, for a little AC and a dose of the Tour de France.

So, tomorrow I head back to California. But don't despair, there may still be an adventure tomorrow as there is still a little matter of riding to the St. George Airport, which will be a trek in itself. And don't think the trip will end there. Remember, I am Aimless. And you never know what will happen when someone is Aimless. I might just have something else up my sleeve, but I'm not saying what...

See you tomorrow.

Yeah, now THAT is a bike path!
Heart 0 Comment 0
And they even have bicycle road signs! Now THAT'S class.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More evidence of flash floods in the past 24 hours.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not a bad swimm'in hole, and it wasn't just kids. Half the people I saw were adults.
Heart 0 Comment 0
If I show the Cathedrals in Europe I think I should give other churches equal time, and since this is St. George...This place was huge, with a big visitors center. But since The Trucker and I are heathens, we kept moving.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My sandals don't give great tan lines, they cover up a lot, but I tried.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 1,401 miles (2,255 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0