Day 19: Going north...to The Rim that is. - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2013

Day 19: Going north...to The Rim that is.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I have bad news. The day was terrible for pictures. Everyone was talking about it. Most people, including me, thought there was a forest fire in the area but that turned out to be wrong. I think it was just dust blowing around. The visibility was fine for riding but not for pictures.



I promised youll get better pics tomorrow...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Anyway, I left Kanab early at 6am, and 5 miles down the road gained an hour because Arizona is an hour behind, which makes things like when stores are open very confusing.

After Fredonia the ride, was basically UP until Jacob Lake, at around 8000 feet. It wasn't an easy ride but I did better than i thought I would, and arrived feeling fairly fresh. What I didn't like was the road. It was pretty busy, what with people heading to higher altitude trying to beat the heat, and there wasn't much shoulder. I wouldn't recommend that road, though there are so few roads you don't have much choice.

Anyway, i decided to go all the way to the North Rim, and I would have paid for it had it not been for a monster tail wind. I arrived pretty tired but happy to be there. And I booked 4 nights at the hiker biker campground for 6 bucks a night. WOOO HOOOO!

Sorry about the crappy pics, but with 3 more days on the rim I promise to make it up to you.

Until then...

Okay, the sunset out of Kanab was pretty.
Heart 0 Comment 0
You may recall that this is not the first porta potty farm I have seen. So I will call this picture "Number 2"
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was my breakfast because no rstaurants were open yet...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...OH MY GOD LOOK WHAT I ATE!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the road from Jacob Lake to the North Rim there was wild winds and intermittent showers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
...but the skies looked cool!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was a really cool view point overlooking the whole valley, but look how hazy it is.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 76 miles (122 km)
Total: 1,008 miles (1,622 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0