Day 18: The good the bad and the ugly and the extremes - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2013

Day 18: The good the bad and the ugly and the extremes

Sometimes I have nothing at all to say. The ride from Page to Kanab was long and hot, with little good about it, aside from my delicious latte at the outdoor store on main street in Kanab. I didn't even take many pictures.

That's just the way life is sometimes.

At the end of it all I got a hotel. Its funny, hotels. Or at least hotels on a bike trip. When I spend much of my nights camping a hotel room is like a little sanctuary of cleanliness and comfort.

In my normal life I don't really even like hotels all that much. But on a bike trip there is nothing like a shower, or bath, that you can stay in as long as you like. And clean sheets...heaven.

I feel like an idiot admitting this, but when I get a hotel room on a bike trip, sometimes I would be perfectly happy crawling into my hotel bed, after my hotel shower, and staying there until I have to leave the next day. Unfortunately, I do have to get out of bed to eat.

I think when we live a comfortable lifestyle, with a normal home, with plumbing, and clean sheets and clothes, and fresh food in the fridge, we forget about what a luxury our normal lives really are.

There is something to be said for extremes. When I feel extremely filthy that shower feels extremely fabulous, as compared to a daily shower at home. When I feel extremely hungry after a long ride food seems to taste better. I don't find I feel that way about showers and food in my "normal" life.

Tomorrow I head to the north rim of the Grand Canyon. I'm sure things will improve with that!

Until then...

Dam it! In Page AZ
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hey, I'm a patriot!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped at the BLM office outside of Page. They had some nice displays about the area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 miles (126 km)
Total: 932 miles (1,500 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0