Day 20: The North Rim - Aimless - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2013

Day 20: The North Rim

There is a place at the North Rim called Angles Point that overlooks the canyon at the most spectacular point. It is dramatic, beautiful, and unique. While I was there I listened to a group of 5 or 6 people, who might have been a family, standing around comparing who had the best cell phone signal and the most "bars".

It seems typical of a lot of people these days. Here they are at one of the most wonderful places on earth, and all they care about is what is happening in the 5-inch screen in front of them. I don't even know what to say about that.

I spent my day hiking the transept trail that goes around the rim of the canyon from the campground to the lodge. The lodge is really nice, though a bit crowded, which is to be expected this time of year. There is a fabulous view of the canyon, probably the best on the north rim, from the lodge.

The best view of the canyon from the campground is my hiker-biker tent site for $6.00 a night! It is the only National park that I know of where we are treated with respect.

It was still a bit hazy for pictures today but I did my best. Tomorrow I will do a bit more hiking.

Until then...

I thought I would start with the view from my campsite. Nice, huh!?
And btw that little camp chair is the best new piece of equipment I have and I plan to write a review of it when I get home.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from my campsite
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at this yucca plant. Right on the edge if the canyon! So cool!
Heart 0 Comment 0
At angel point...
Heart 0 Comment 0
My campsite again.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The path to Angel Point
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Part if the trail goes through the forest
Heart 1 Comment 0
The trees were beautiful!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The north rim lodge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 7 miles (11 km)
Total: 1,015 miles (1,633 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0