Week One - Hiding From Old Man Winter - CycleBlaze

January 23, 2022

Week One

I wasn't going to journal this trip. It's an almost embarrassing third trip in as many months to Tucson. I should just stay here for the winter! But, I've had a few interesting sightings and happenings, so I thought I'd make a weekly post of notable items and photos.

I've been riding with the Tucson Recumbent Cyclists group three times. They are fun, and I'm not too slow. Most of the riders are on electric assist trikes. But they wait up for the rest of us. My friend Jan, from my November tour, has provided companionship and entertainment. Now she owns not one, but two recumbents! Bicycle friend, AD Carson, is here from Milwaukee. 

You will be proud of me that I'm now familiar enough with the path system to NOT need a route when I go for my daily ride. I've even ventured off the path a few times. I took two rides up by Jan's house in Oro Valley. The recumbent club rode East Saguaro Park. The roller coaster  up and downs through there were a shifting workout. I was in good stead, with Colorado climbing practice. 

I've seen coyotes twice this trip. One little bunny. You would think there would be more bunnies here. Perhaps they coyotes keep the population down. Every time I pass the place I saw the bobcat, I look, but haven't seen it again. I look for the big ergot near Ina Road. I'm happy to report he has a mate. There is also a lone heron that is exactly at the same spot so often, that I wonder if he is real. 

I'm starting to like the swampy/sewer smell up by Ina Road. Is that good or bad?

For people sightings, I saw three silver haired men in the park practicing tai chi with folding fans. They were ever so graceful, fluttering their fans open and shut, back and forth, all while balancing on one leg, and then the other, twirling about.

I've decided that staying at airbnb's and eating in can be a cost saving method of travel. Perhaps I even save money, as I'm not ordering anything on line while I'm here!

I thought I might get lonely. I knew I would be happy riding my bike every day, but I thought evenings would be too alone. I've done a good job of socializing just enough. 

I made the goal of riding 300 miles a week/1,500 miles for the trip. So far, I am on task. Bicycling is my number one reason for being here. I plan and want to ride every single day.

I have been looking for a shorter recumbent to take on the airplane. We are thinking of a 2023 European trip, probably to Spain and Portugal. While I know that my eight foot long bike can be broken down enough to fly, it won't be an easy task. I've tried a couple of shorter models of recumbents (an Agio and a Barcroft Virginia). Now I've tracked down a Barcroft Dakota, which has an adjustable boom, which should fit my long legs. AD Carson has agreed to assemble and adjust the bike for me. Stand by for photos!

I had back issues with the too soft bed at the airbnb. I've been sleeping on the living room floor on the couch cushion. I'm the only one here, I can suit myself! My back has been happy. I think doing stretches twice a day helps my back. It's easy to work the twice a day routine in, to help fill up the time.

I find it impossible to drive through Monument Valley without taking a photo.
Heart 8 Comment 1
Keith AdamsWhere's Forrest Gump? :)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
There's more cacti up around Oro Valley.
Heart 3 Comment 1
marilyn swettWe like biking in Oro Valley, makes a change from riding the trails!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
I drove 12 hours in one day, arriving at 4 PM. I couldn't wait to get up in the morning and ride my bike. This was the first day's ride. Twin Peaks in the background.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A Byzantine Catholic Church, in central Tucson.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just as I can't pass up a photo opp in Monument Valley, I can't pass one here either.
Heart 3 Comment 1
jerry witherspoonI’ve noticed 😜
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
The egret a mate! I'm happy for him.
Heart 1 Comment 1
jerry witherspoonThats”egret”, Kelly.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Some of the Tucson recumbent cyclists riders, heading out to the end of the trail at Marana.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We took a group photo at the picnic area. Food was eaten. I have personally never seen so many trikes in one spot. Trikes are common on the loop - I've seen as many as 30 in a day, not together. So many trikes are quite a sight for a small town girl.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Kathleen JonesI see you got to ride with Sylvia Halpern and Myrtle. She posted the same photo on social media and I went, Is that Kelly? I rode with her and the Bay Area Recumbent Cyclists in November; I even made the video. Looking forward to her video of your ride in Tucson.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
I have a new favorite taco spot. Hermano's Taco truck on 22nd Street and the loop. There is also a neighboring Mediterranean truck, and a BBQ truck. We've stopped here twice with the recumbent group. Pedaling works up an appetite!
Heart 2 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonLooks delicious!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Read the license plate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
AD Carson's Tour Easy. He's kept this bike at his daughter's house in Tucson for when he visits. Now she is moving. He has pre sold the bike to a man for the end of his visit this year. Isn't it nice when things work out?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sylvia, Edna, and I take a dirt side road in East Saguaro Park. Sylvia wanted to see the view point, but the road got too sandy for our liking, and we turned around.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saw this deformed cholla in East Saguaro Park.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNever seen a deformed cholla before!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonGlad you got to ride the East Saguaro loop!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
There were plenty of photo excuses while I panted!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Douglas is still trying to decide if he likes his Azub with under seat steering.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My couch cushion bed is much more comfortable than the squishy mattress in the bedroom. I'm the only one here, I leave the bed on the floor all of the time!
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI have done this... much like using a Japanese yo. Works well.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill ShaneyfeltI tired the bed again for a couple of hours. No, not happening . . I'm doing just fine on the floor.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
John and Ann have a newly purchased Hase Pino. They had previously tried a loaner Counterpoint (similar style of tandem). There's a learning curve. They had stopped to make a steep turn because the captain's handlebars were hitting the back of the stoker seat, preventing a sharp enough turn to make the corner.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My K frame, RANS Stratus XP. This photo was taken at the Roy Schoonover trailhead while looping the loop! 57 miles door to door! I've ridden three loops so far. Yeehaw!
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 322 miles (518 km)
Total: 322 miles (518 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
marilyn swettNice to hear about your time in Tucson! Sounds like you found a fun group to bike with.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonI’m glad you decided to create a journal! Also, it’s great to hear you’ve found a group to ride with and aren’t getting lonely.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago