Week Two - Hiding From Old Man Winter - CycleBlaze

January 30, 2022

Week Two

I started the week out with a ride around the loop, 57 miles. I am proud of myself that I could navigate the confusing area around the VA Center without getting lost and not following a GPS route!

Tuesday I led a group on my favorite ride, up Harrison Greenway and down Julian Wash to Ray Schoonover Trailhead. We had 10 riders come and go. We ate a snack at the turnaround and some of us stopped for tacos after!

This week's weather was a disappointment. It was much cooler (50's), and VERY windy. Windy to the point that I had trouble holding onto the bike a couple of times. Once I had to stop and turn around to let my eyes cry, they were so full of sand. I couldn't keep even one eye open to ride.

I've been meeting interesting people. I've managed to have some sort of social life, despite being down here alone. That's a relief. 

My potentially big news is that I've purchased a new to me bike that might be a travel bike for flying. I've been looking for a shorter bike that is easier to transport. A Barcroft Dakota is a lightweight, short bike that I can get my feet on the ground. All reviews mention how stable it is. That's a rarity with short recumbents. I put out a wanted ad, and had a shop in Portland answer. AD Carson kindly agreed to assemble the bike for me. He did that yesterday. I rode it twice today. It's not love at first sight, but it might be a good friendship. Already I know the stock RANS seat has to go. You would think a seat with a thick foam pad would be comfortable, but I find it SO hard. Usually that seat bothers my sciatic nerve. Today I felt like I was sitting on a board. I'm used to old fashioned grip shifters. This bike has thumb shifters that I find difficult to shift. The handlebars are a question also. If I go to the expense of changing all of those things, will I like the bike then? I'm not sure . . .  I already tried fixing up an Agio just to my liking, with the same intentions of flying with it. Then I didn't like the bike . . .  AD says perhaps I've  met my bicycle soul mate already in the Stratus! That well could be true. But, it would be nice to have a reasonable substitute to travel with. 

The new bike was the cap to my week. I rode it in the early afternoon, when the wind died down. I went to lunch with Jan and Kurt at The Parrish Restaurant on Oracle. We agreed we would eat there again. Then I came home and rode a quick ten miles before dark. This bike has flip it bars. They move forward towards the cranks so the rider can get out of the cock pit. I'm not used to those. I tried holding onto the bars as I got off (I needed to hold the seat also). I dumped the bike on the ground and managed to twist the bars at the same time. Luckily Bruce happened along just then, and had the tools to straighten the bars back out. 

I've had a busy week, riding every day. Nights are pretty quiet. I read or watch a movie, and go to bed early to get up in time to ride.

The weather looks better this next week. Warmer, and not quite as windy. I'm going to start the week off with another turn around the loop. Mark mentioned he was going for seven loops in a row. I'm considering that!

AD Carson on a rare Stein Wild One trike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My friend Jan, whom you met in November, on her first recumbent. She now has two!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bonny and John, from the club.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Douglas obliged me with a photo shot at my favorite spot.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My Stratus XP, K frame, was the inspiration for the Phoenix. Here, they go head to head!
Heart 0 Comment 0
John and Ann, Pino riders, are all smiles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bruce, on a Aero Basso. He was leading a GABA club ride. Their 13 mph pace was too fast for me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at those clouds! I thought I would get wet, but didn’t.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This door is a perfect shade of blue.
Heart 0 Comment 0
All of the plants except the barrel cactus were covered against the cold. The little guy was on his own.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wear fishing gloves while riding. The sweat dries easily, and they are sun resistant.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mark is wintering here from Iowa.
Heart 0 Comment 1
John RileyI would expect there to be quite a few Midwesterners.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
This rock was on the stucco wall at Papa Loco’s. I did not test to see if it was glued down.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another Pino! John and Kim and met John and Ann. The result was that they ordered their own Pino. This was their second ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 318 miles (512 km)
Total: 640 miles (1,030 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 12
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Bachetta Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.
spoon
spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Bachetta Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.
spoon
spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Bachetta Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.
spoon
spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Bachetta Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.
spoon
spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Bachetta Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.
spoon
spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Bachetta Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.
spoon
spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.

spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.

spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.

spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.

spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.

spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
jerry witherspoonFirst, we need pictures of the new bike. Second, I think Bruce has the right idea. A Basso, the short bike you should consider. A carbon, it is very light and transported easily. As you know, I had one and loved it, only to abandon for a trike after a crash. It would certainly up your speed with no penalty.

spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago