Day 22 - Parting of the ways. - The Long Way to Cleveland - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2023

Day 22 - Parting of the ways.

On to Chatham

Heart 0 Comment 0

The campground at Lock 4 is on an island in the middle of the Hudson River. When we left the park, Cale and Zach would take a right and cross the other half of the river, heading east towards Vermont, while I would take a left and head down the west side of the river to Albany. 

Morning at Lock 4. Still very hazy from the smoke.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The lock that we were near is not on the Erie Canal. It is Lock 4 on the Champlain Canal, and has less traffic than the Erie. Nonetheless, I was able to see the lock in operation when an early boat passed through.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The lockmaster in action.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Closing the lower gate.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Filling the lock takes very little time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
And out we go. A lot of infrastructure to maintain for a few pleasure crafts a day.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Saying goodbye to Cale and Zach. It's been great getting to know you...
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltPainted turtles and map turtles.

Painted turtles have red on their shells and shells are smoother than map turtles.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/39772-Chrysemys-picta-marginata

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/39858-Graptemys-geographica
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bike path goes right over a landfill.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Albany obscured by smoke.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fishing on the Hudson.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The ride to Albany was pretty easy, with much of it on the Empire State Trail, very clearly marked. It was about 18 miles to Albany from where we camped, and I stopped for a break under an overpass in Albany before crossing the river. While having a drink, a man on a vintage Univega  bicycle pulled up next to me and asked about my bike and the ride. He was picking up returnable bottles and looked like kind of a bum. He had gotten his bike for free after someone had discarded it, and he seemed to know all about the components on bikes, and the various manufacturers, in fact, he seemed to know a lot about a lot of things. He asked me why I went to Cleveland, and Cleveland brought to mind the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The conversation took a sharp turn from bicycles to music, and when I told him that I played the violin, he talked about Jerry Goodman, Michael Urbaniak, and Jean Luc Ponty. This led to Zappa, The Flock, and all sorts of musicians that are unknown or forgotten by most people. This guy had seen loads of concerts in Albany over the years, and we must have spent a half hour talking about different shows and music personalities. Just an incredible guy.

The amazing man that I met in Albany.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Crossing the Hudson.
Heart 2 Comment 0
When Google maps led me to the Albany - Hudson Electric Trail, I thought it would be like the Genesee Trail, all grass. But this trail is newly paved and is absolutely great!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I was headed to Chatham, NY today, a bit over 50 miles, to the home of my old friend Terry Buck. I've known Terry since 1969, and we've stayed in touch on and off over the years. When I graduated from college, Terry came out to the ceremony, and bicycled back to Litchfield with me and my friend, Colin. I don't know how I ever talked her into it, and I think that what she remembers most about the ride is how much her butt hurt after the second day. But she's a very strong willed woman, and went the distance with few complaints.

My bed for the night, next to one of Terry's many looms.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 1,561 miles (2,512 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0