Day 65 Twin Pines Campground to Fort Washakie - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2023

Day 65 Twin Pines Campground to Fort Washakie

I decided to do a short ride today. We had booked 2 nights at the campground as it’s a weekend and I wanted to be sure to get my bike fixed. I didn’t expect Gamnett Peak Sports to be so efficient! Leaving the campground and heading north to Lander and beyond, I’m so struck by the beauty of this area. It just fills me with joy. 

Heart 4 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThat's a beautiful photo / scene. ..worthy of painting!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 2
Susan WelchI love this photo…
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltThe dark and light clouds are an interesting contrast!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
North Popo Agie River
Heart 3 Comment 0
Our prior dog Moby would have loved this huge slide!
Heart 1 Comment 3
Mike AylingHaven't seen one like that for years.
Kids were a lot tougher in the past!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Mike AylingDefinitely a relic of the past. Remember how hot they would get in summer?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltThat's a pretty steep slide!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Nice to have a welcome sign
Heart 1 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillMargaret Cole, an author whose books I have enjoyed, writes fictional mysteries set on the Wind River Reservation. I have always wanted to see it. Now I have, through your photos.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Such beautiful country!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Horses for my friend Irene
Heart 2 Comment 0
I had a hitchhiker that was nibbling me
Heart 2 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltDeer flies! OUCH! They hurt...

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/49703-Chrysops/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Bill ShaneyfeltCool photos! Thanks Bill.
They’re not as bad as those big black biting flies.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Sandy EarleThose would be horseflies... which are in the same family, and yes they bite worse.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tabanidae
Reply to this comment
9 months ago


As I was cycling through the Wind River Reservation, I heard someone to my left yell “Howdy!”and I turned and said “Good morning!”to a tall 30ish man with a big smile walking in the other direction. That’s the best greeting I’ve had on this trip!

Biking  through Fort Washakie, I noticed a big hill ahead and thought. I don’t want to do that hill first thing in the morning, so I called Peter and asked him to pick me up north of town. 

After cycling, we went to the Wind River Reservation trading post and got gifts for our daughter and her partner. Then we visited Sacajawea’s  and Chief Washakie’s grave. The cemeteries really reminded Peter of Mexico- so colorful! Kind of like the difference between a Catholic Church and a Protestant Church. 

Sacajawea’s grave flanked by her sons
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Susan WelchNothing like a good, out of the way cemetery to explore….
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Susan WelchI agree. But they always raise questions.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Chief Washakie’s grave
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

We returned to Lander and had lunch at The Middle Fork on the patio with Henry. I had a delicious quinoa bowl. I can’t believe I ate the whole thing!

I went back to the bike store and bought the tubes I forgot to buy yesterday and a new handlebar bag. My old one is a 20 year old Arkel that you have to put a rain cover on. Livin’ in luxury now. 

Got to rest up for tomorrow- will be following the Wind River. I don’t like the sound of that. 

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 2,327 miles (3,745 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Julie O’NeillThis is one of my favorite entries. I hope you enjoyed the ride here.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago