Day 66 North of Fort Washakie to Dubois WY - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2023

Day 66 North of Fort Washakie to Dubois WY

I picked up where I finished yesterday and headed north. I started about 7:00 a half hour later than I intended. Seems to be a recurring theme. I know the winds will pick up around noon. The first 4-5 hours were great. I met a cyclist doing the TransAm west to east named Keith. He’s from Vancouver WA.  Subsequently I stopped at the store in Crowheart. This is an amazing little store with an amazing inventory. I regret not taking a picture. While there I met Mel and Malcolm from Australia who are cycling the TransAm. When we left, the wind was starting to blow and not at our backs. There was a lot of climbing with pure headwind which later became quartering headwind. I thought that would be better but learned that while it still impedes your progress, it also tried to blow you over. I’m no match for Wyoming winds. About 15 miles from the campground, I met a young couple from Kansas who are biking the TransAm.They invited me to draft behind them which I did. Quite a relief from the wind; however, I stopped to check Google maps for directions to the RV park and couldn’t catch up with them again. After two and a half hours of headwind, I arrived at the Longhorn Lodge and RV Resort which is 3 miles out of Dubois. 

Peter cooked an excellent dinner so now I’m stuffed and trying to catch up on the journal. Internet and cell service has been very sketchy for the last few days. 

Early morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
Amazing geological formations
Heart 2 Comment 0
Burrows Lake which feeds into the Wind River
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wind River Range in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
More horses for Irene
Heart 1 Comment 0

 

I’ve been seeing this formation since my ride to Lander
Heart 2 Comment 0
Oh, that’s what it is!
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltI love reading historical signs. :) Thanks for taking the pictures of them!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
I’d like my geologist friends to explain these.
Heart 4 Comment 0
All day, there have been rocks to my right
Heart 4 Comment 0
And soft hills to my left. This is the view from our campsite
Heart 2 Comment 0
Behind us is the Wind River. Henry had fun swimming for sticks.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Peter made a great meal. I was starving after battling the wind.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltAww, Peter even added some colorful flowers to your dinner plate!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 2,380 miles (3,830 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Di KegelesYou know this is our country, right? We have hundreds of pictures of Crowheart Butte and thousands of Dubois— Cheryl has been going to Dubois since she was a teenager (she spent her teens in Riverton)— Dubois is where we go every September!! We know the area pretty well!! Very cool to know you’ve cycled thru our “heart home”!!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Di KegelesI didn’t know that! Or maybe the unfamiliar names just washed over me. It’s such beautiful country!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Julie O’NeillCongratulations on handling the Wyoming winds! They are indescribable, and you won't forget them.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago