Day 67 Dubois to Moran WY - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2023

Day 67 Dubois to Moran WY

I was a bit anxious about today’s climb to Togwotee Pass but my brother reassured me in our Mother’s hallmark words”you’ll be fine “. Mom was not easily ruffled. 

The ride to the pass was about 30 miles from Dubois and became progressively steeper especially the last five miles. Overall, it wasn’t that difficult but I was glad to reach the summit at 9658 feet. Peter and Henry were waiting at the pass with a cold mini Gatorade! And bathroom facilities! Almost immediately after, I crossed the Continental Divide again. Just as I was leaving the pass the winds picked up so I barely had to use my brakes on the 20 mile descent. I actually pedaled a lot of it. There was a construction area with gravel for about 2 miles of the ride down. So glad I didn’t fall.  The scenery on the descent was jaw dropping, with tons of wild flowers, including tons of lupines against a background of evergreens. Then the Grand Tetons started peeking over the trees. It was exquisite!

Sticky geranium
Heart 2 Comment 1
Susan WelchGlorious!! What contrast to the flats of the Midwest….
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Wooly sunflower
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scarlet Gilia
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillYour amazing accomplishments are showing in the peaceful, happy look on your face.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
An iPhone doesn’t do it justice.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltWow, the Tetons are something else to see!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Peter just discovered that he reserved a cabin in Yellowstone for the day after tomorrow, not tomorrow. So we’ll be staying here an extra day. Yay! Rest day! And laundry day! And hopefully explore this beautiful area. 
Today was an awesome day. 

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 2,433 miles (3,916 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Steve HurlbutTold you that you would be fine! Keep on trucking messy missy.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Di KegelesOne of my favorite moments of each trip is when we get to the top of togwotee and see the Tetons! (Besides the time in 2022 when we had total white out conditions up there….. ugh) but I’ve also found some of my best agates up top there!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Di KegelesYes! The sight of the Tetons on the descent is one of my most vivid memories of the trip.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago