Day 64 Jeffrey City Wy to Lander WY - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2023

Day 64 Jeffrey City Wy to Lander WY

I left sad Jeffrey City at 7:00. The usual morning routine of shedding layers ensued. What a beautiful ride!  Even the pavement improved after Jeffrey City.
On the way  to Sweetwater Station I passed where there had been an ice slough. Early settlers would stop here and dig down a foot or two and find ice until late summer. Alas, there’s no more ice under the bog. 

Heart 3 Comment 2
Susan Welch Very interesting!!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltYes, interesting re the ice sloughs!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Such vastness
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just a sign I liked coming into Sweetwater Station
Heart 4 Comment 0

There’s a nice rest stop in Sweetwater Station where Peter and Henry were waiting.  There are restrooms and picnic tables and a Department of Tourism office with interesting maps etc. After my yogurt break, I took off and continued slowly climbing. After about 26 miles into the ride there was a 5 mile downhill of about 6% grade. I didn’t need to use my brakes very much because of the wind but the views were incredible!

Yee haw!
Heart 3 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltAlways great to have a downhill!!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
That’s the Wind River Range in the background
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Photos don’t do it justice.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I should have taken more photos but it’s hard to stop when you’re having fun. 

We’re camping about 8.5 miles east of town. There’s a big rock climbing event here this weekend so all the campgrounds in town are full. Peter took me and my bike into town so I could get the derailer adjusted. It’s such a pain to climb when you don’t have all your gears! The folks at Gannett Peak Sports were wonderful. They give prompt attention us cycle tourists. Ed fixed up my bike like new; I’m so happy!

These are the guys to see if you need anything bike-related in Lander.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Julie O’NeillHooray for Ed!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Afterwards we went to dinner at Cowfish and Henry got to sit with us on the patio!  We had an incredible dinner and got carrot cake to go. 

What an awesome day. I love Lander!

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 2,301 miles (3,703 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0