Final word - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

December 1, 2022

Final word

It is fantastic to be home. I missed Serena and Yoshi so much. I can't wait to make Serena delicious dinners and take Yoshi for lots of walks.

Serena is amazing for supporting me for the last 3 years in my attempts to cycle around Australia. I think she deserves a 'Wife of the Year' award.

I also had the loving support of family and friends. 

I am very grateful to everyone that read my blog, made comments, or simply liked a photo. It feels like I am part of a kind and welcoming community. 

Special mention goes to Bill who must have spent tens of hours researching flora and fauna on my blog while also helping out on other blogs too.

I hope my blog will encourage people to cycle tour in Australia. 

My ride distance was 18,006kms over 11 months. 

Please message me if you have any questions. 

I am a happier person for doing this ride.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 27
Frank DenmanWell done Vince Sandy and I talk about your adventure every day good to be home ,but is the mind ticking over what can I do next ?
Keep smiling xxx
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott DiamondCongratulations Vince!! What an epic ride. Thanks for sharing your trip. I learned quite a bit from your blog and I'm inspired to try and ride the top half of Australia some day.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierI can't find any words that are sufficient to express my admiration. An amazing journey! Congratulations to you and your support crew for persevering and completing the ride under very difficult conditions.

Reading your journal has been a mainstay of my evenings for a long time. With both you and the Andersons finishing rides on the same day, I'm going to have to find some new reading material!!

Welcome home and I hope you have a good rest.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lucy MartinCongratulations! Thank you so much for sharing your travels. It was wonderful follow along. Hugs.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltWell done! Thanks for the shout out! Yeah, sometimes I did spend too much time digging the internet for nature IDs, usually to no help, but it was interesting. I learned a lot, maybe a tiny bit will stick. Thanks for all the great nature photos!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mike AylingWell done Vince!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaSerena certainly deserves heaps of accolades for everything providing spread sheets, arranging more food when your in remote areas plus sending on supplies when things wore out or broke, Wife of the Year for sure, cheers Serena well done to you too
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHi Frank and Sandy,

Thank you. I'm not sure about my next tour. Perhaps Canada or Iceland or elsewhere?
For now I will enjoy living like a normal person for a while.
Cheers
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHi Scott,

Thank you. I enjoy reading your blog too. Your trip is coming to an end as well. Enjoy it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHi Rich,

Thank you for your kind words. It was one of the biggest things I've ever done. I will brag about it in my 80's when everyone is riding hover bikes.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHi Lucy,

Thank you for following along and for your comments.
Cheers
Vincr
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks heaps Bill. You're a champion!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Mike.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI made her coffee in bed this morning so my debt is paid.πŸ€ͺ
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Toby TesterWell done Vince once again. So very life affirming. It will be hard to resist the urge to embark on another adventure.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Craig DallyCongratulations Vince, well done! I've loved reading your blog. And I'm glad I had your company when we crossed the Nullarbor. Hope to see you on the road again one day!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Toby,

Yeh, who knows what my next adventure will be. I'm sure it won't be as big.

Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Craig,

It was awesome to hang out with you and discuss our daily encounters on the Nullarbor.

See you when you're next on this side of the ditch.πŸ‘πŸ»
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Vince McCarthyI will miss your journey. I really enjoyed following along. What a fabulous achievement. If you do come to Canada please get in touch as we would love to meet you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Kathleen,

You're very kind.

Canada seems very nice although I'm a bit scared of bears and moose.

I may be in touch in a year or so.
Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kang ChenCongratulations!! Big achievement, you should consider to write a book now :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHi Kang,

Thank you. I doubt I could write a book. I've said almost everything in the blog.

Thanks for coming up and saying hi. Good luck with your adventures.

Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kerrie McCarthyI have to say Vince,I already loved you and was proud of you, but wow, so proud of you, and loved, loved reading and following you😘 oh and your visit ❀️
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you for the kind words Kerrie.

It was great seeing you and the family too.

I'm slowly adjusting to having a life with a permanent address, not having to sleep on the ground, with mozzies, or sharing a bathroom with 100 other people.

I've been riding my bike a lot and enjoying gardening with Yoshi. It's good to be home.πŸš²πŸ•ΊπŸŽ‰πŸ₯°
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Karen HillWhat an amazing adventure. I am in awe. Hope you enjoy time at home. Give Yoshi a pat.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Graham SmithHi Vince,
A belated congratulations on completing an extraordinary cycle tour and a very engaging journal. Hopefully we’ll catch up at the local shops sometime soon.
Regards Graham
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Graham! I can't wait to hear about your trek to base camp!
See ya soon.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago