Training and Shakedown Rides - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

Training and Shakedown Rides

As I've said in other posts, a strict regimen of diet, training and exercise is crucial, blah blah blah. I just feel better writing that.

Shakedown rides are helpful to assess 3 key things: the bike's performance, my conditioning and  packing simplicity/efficiency. That's what I say. Other bike travelers might say that I'm full of crap.

Since April was so rainy here in the Willamette Valley, I drove out to sunny Mitchell for the first shakedown ride. 

Shakedown #1: April 1,  Mitchell to Priest Hole and back, 13.5 miles.

Mt. Washington on the drive over the pass toward Mitchell.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Nepo, the best place to stay in Mitchell, Oregon. Oh wait, that's the incredible Spoke'n Hostel! https://www.spokenhostel.org/
Heart 4 Comment 0
The high desert canyons above Mitchell
Heart 3 Comment 0
Hoosier!
Heart 5 Comment 2
Jen Rahn*Who's* your Hoosier?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Jen RahnMe!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
George Clooney!
Heart 4 Comment 0

Shakedown Ride #2:  The Gravel Cracker 45 from Dirtyfreehub.org.  It's an amazing route. 

I began at the Sisters Creekside Campgound on May 15. It was a fun ride, grueling in a couple of places. 

The bike leaning against a sign
Heart 2 Comment 0
The headwaters of the Metolius River
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sand. Hill. Heat. Biting flies. I'm really glad there won't be any of those on the Divide.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Lunch stop. I had delicious tortillas and peanut butter, followed by tasty Pringles.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Andrea BrownWhat? No canned chicken?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Andrea BrownI'm slipping ..
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Clampetts are in town.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Steep 8-14% grade in soft sand. I got some hike a bike (pushing the bike up a steep hill) training in.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Shakedown #3- Reverse Gravel Cracker

The last shakedown ride occurred June 5-7 near Sisters, Oregon. 45 miles of so. I repeated the Gravel Cracker route from April, only in reverse, just to keep you guessing. I didn't actually ride the bike backwards. 

Gravel Gracker
Heart 1 Comment 0
Delicious couscous and black beans for dinner
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The bike leaning against a picnic table. I'll get into packing setup in the next entry.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
One guy. The mess of 3.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The test rides really helped me figure out what the setup will be when I start June 21. I feel like I'm in reasonably good riding condition, the bike is ready and now I play the waiting game. Aagh, the waiting game sucks. Let's play Hungry Hungry Hippos

 Below is a short, Oscar-worthy video of my Mitchell ride. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rachael AndersonFabulous video and I love the music! Definitely, Oscar worthy!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonLike Rocky said! Totally awesome. Looks like you’re ready!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Scott AndersonThanks! I hope so. A little nervous.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rachael AndersonThanks. I was getting used to my new GoPro and used the app to edit.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago