Springwinter into Summerspring - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2023

Springwinter into Summerspring

When I created this journal back in February, lame working title and all, I figured there was plenty of time to get ready for a June 21 start. Even so, I began a strict regimen of exercise, healthy diet, progressively longer rides and intensive resistance training.  Oh, wait. That wasn't me. 

As of today there are 26 days until the start, which means, um, I'd better implement the strict regimen of exercise, healthy diet, progressively longer rides and intensive resistance training. 

My doc said fish has omega 3, whatever that is. Hopefully a steady diet will propel me up and over the Wall and Fleecer Ridge.
Heart 6 Comment 4
Rachael AndersonWe’ll they do have carbs and whole grain.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bob DistelbergOne of my favorite snacks. And thanks for confirming that because they’re fish, they’re good for me.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rachael AndersonAnd tasty deliciousness!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bob DistelbergYes, it's nice to know that healthy foods can be delicious.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
My trusty Long Haul Trucker on the trainer. It was sitting like that for weeks, but I don't feel any stronger. I wonder if this damn thing is working?
Heart 7 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWell the bike is probably in shape!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rachael AndersonIt's in better shape than I am!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Hilarity aside, the training I'm doing has resulted in some benefits in strength and endurance. I'm also getting some occasional pushback in the form of an  achy knee, tweaky back and the shoulder I injured in 2011 on a backpacking trip. Yep. Despite my incredibly youthful appearance*, I'm not a teenager. 

I had hoped to get outside and actually ride the bike this year, but spring in western Oregon was very wintry, with constant rain, some snow, cold temperatures and hail every few days. I know, the Rocky Mountains are full of hail, cold, rain and snow, not to mention thousands of massive, bloodthirsty grizzlies. But since May arrived, it's been warm and sunny, and I've gotten a couple of loaded shakedown rides in. No, I wasn't loaded. The bike was loaded. 

Springtime in Oregon
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's more like it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm an under-trainer, and even though I've ridden hundreds of miles in crappy weather, I don't often do so by choice. Once I'm on the route, the choice is out of the equation and I'll power through, and ride myself into shape. And I'll curse my lack of training. It's a vicious cycle. Or a casual nexus. Choose your poison. 

I'll post my shakedown rides next, so you can be impressed by my Garceau-like bravery in the face of certain death and inconvenience. 

*Ha!

The bike is loaded.
Heart 4 Comment 4
Scott AndersonThe Donner Party comes to mind. I wonder how soon we’ll see shots of baggage tossed beside the trail to lighten your load.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Scott AndersonThe jettisoning of gear won't happen for at least 3 or 4 days. But your comment has me hankering for some spleen...
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Mas KenahcusHow much does the bike weigh fully loaded? What are you sleeping on? What are you eating daily? How and when are you showering? Your tent rain proof? How many spare parts are you bringing? Riding alone? How many others will be traveling? Stores on route? I can keep going…
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Mas KenahcusAll excellent questions, cuz. I'll be posting the answers in the next couple of days!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Rachael AndersonI can’t wait for your tour to start!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Gregory GarceauThe secret to "Garceau-like bravery" is to describe minor inconveniences in ways that makes them SOUND like life-or-death situations. Another secret is to leave the part about peeing your pants in fear out of your journal.

Anyway, if your strict dietary and training regimens are any indication, you are well on your way to a fun and exciting trip.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rachael AndersonMe too!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauThanks for that tip about not publicizing peeing in my pants. I am drafting my next entry and I'll leave out the part about the terrifying squirrel and the aftermath...
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Ron SuchanekSquirrel! Massive bloodthirsty grizzly bear! What's the difference? They're both terrifying wildlife. It sounds like your shakedown rides are preparing you well.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonSo have you been following Jordan Buckner’s journal? He and Mary are in northern New Mexico, heading your way. A meetup in Wyoming somewhere?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Scott AndersonI am so far behind on journals, but thanks for the heads up on Jordan's! I'll take a look.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago