To Somewhere Near Villanueva del Trabuco - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

March 21, 2023

To Somewhere Near Villanueva del Trabuco

Today was an emotional roller coaster  - with a little bit of rolling terrain to keep things interesting. 

Breakfast at the hotel did not start until nine, which was okay by me as today’s ride appeared to be fairly short and reasonable. And it was great decision – a real breakfast straight from the kitchen that included a fried egg, toast, cheese, vegetables and toast, and an almond pastry to boot - I passed on the bacon option. I took an orange and banana for the road, and got directions for a nearby bakery in anticipation of a mid-day pastry break. I was in high spirits. And then things went sideways.

The start of my morning malaise was getting confused on my route out of town. For some reason I’ve yet to sort out, my RWGPS route map defaulted to show not only today’s route but also my personal heat map, both of which are depicted as blue lines. Unaware of this glitch, I headed back down the steep hill that had defeated me yesterday. It was only on reaching the bottom of town that I realized today’s route started at the top of the town. Demoralized, I headed back up the hill, pushing more than riding and hurrying unnecessarily. I was finally back on the right track….and facing a short punchy climb averaging almost over 11%. It wasn’t long before I cried uncle and started walking. My legs were tired, my spirits sagged, and I was tense, anxious and felt defeated. And it was only my second day in Spain!! It took me more than seven miles to get my mojo back.

Pastry stop
Heart 6 Comment 2
Keith AdamsAnd the sidewalk's already showing ominous inclination...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Keith AdamsYes, there is not much flat in the white hill towns of Andalusian
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A look back at Alhama de Granada - I believe the the white road on the far his is yesterday's route into town
Heart 4 Comment 0
On the way to Zafarraya
Heart 7 Comment 0
Cycling into the fertile valley around Zafarraya
Heart 4 Comment 0
Spring shoots
Heart 7 Comment 0
Ventas de Zafarraya lies just north of the pass between the Sierra de Alhama on the right and the Sierra de Tejeda on the left
Heart 5 Comment 0
A snack stop in Ventas de Zafarraya - even the pastry failed to lift my spirits
Heart 1 Comment 0

The dark cloud continued to hang over me through the lovely and easy ride into Zafarraya. Ironically, it was the climb after Zafarraya that turned things around. It was a bit steep at first, but as the grade eased so did the tension I was carrying. I was following A341 and it was quieter than I anticipated, allowing me to find a nice rhythm and enjoy the rocky karst landscape. I even gave big smiles and waves to locals passing by on scooters or tractors. 

After reaching the top of the climb, A341 continued on a gradual downhill for the next five miles when I turned west, following the Rio Guadalhorce on MA4100 towards Villanueva del Trabuco. This was a magical stretch on a small, virtually car-free road with one stunning view after another. I let loose the reins on Vivien George, reaching speeds in excess of 30 mph (fast for me with panniers). I was having so much fun I didn’t want to stop, not even for cows.

A steady climb through a karst landscape
Heart 4 Comment 0
A stop on the climb, waiting for a line a trucks heading toward me at a slow crawl
Heart 3 Comment 0
The gradual descent on A341
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
View to the east at the junction of A341 and MA 4100
Heart 4 Comment 0
View to the southwest at the junction of A341 and MA 4100
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The sign says it all
Heart 2 Comment 0
A heavenly ride
Heart 6 Comment 0

MA4100 ended just before Villanueva del Trabuco where I turned north, to my hotel at what was essentially a hotel/truck stop on A92M divided highway. There were no rooms available in Villanueva del Trabuco at the time of my booking, and Hotel El Capricho had gotten good reviews, even one review from a touring cyclist. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but the hotel was modern and clean and the restaurant was open continuously until 10 pm. Not for the first time, I was the sole diner at 7 pm, but that was just fine. As was my day – a rough start but a glorious run near the end that left me exhilarated and eager for another day on the road.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 218 miles (351 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith AdamsIt's reassuring to see you end the day on the up note. Much better than going to bed with a sour feeling.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonSorry for your problems getting out of town but am glad the day ended well!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago