To Antequera - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

March 22, 2023

To Antequera

The weather has so far been fantastic – moderate temperatures, sunshine and clear blue skies. And none of last year’s storms of red dust blowing up from the Sahara – which I would have experienced had I made the trip last year, as planned. It was a short ride to Antequera, the easiest day so far and probably of the whole Spain tour. It was something I’d planned for as I wanted time to explore Antequera, once I’d arrived. I set out from the hotel/truck stop on small frontage road along the A93M highway, then cycled through fairly uninteresting countryside for five miles before reaching Archidona, which sits in the foothills of of the Sierra de Gracia. I dropped down along a steep street to a nice plaza that seemed an ideal spot for a banana and Clif Bar snack.

 I had a bit of trouble getting back on route after my break – originally going the wrong way on A7282 and then mistakenly taking what I thought was a bike path but, from the looks of it, was mostly used by inconsiderate dog walkers. In short order however, I was back on track and bombing down A7282, but then missed my turn while waving to cyclists laboring up the hill. It was not much backtracking to the smaller road that led me to a rough dirt track before putting me back on the larger A7282. I arrived in Antequera about thirty minutes before my 2 pm check-in time, but the room was ready within ten minutes. I cleaned up, rested a bit and went out to have a look around town.

Along the frontage road
Heart 8 Comment 1
Keith AdamsCould you tell whether that's a dwelling or a storage building of some sort? If it's a dwelling it's on the humble end of the spectrum, for sure.

I suppose it could be some sort of shelter for itinerant drovers or other nomads?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
The scenery wasn't the best, but this small road was one of my favorites of the day
Heart 9 Comment 0
Preparing to plummet down the street streets of Archidona.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This palm-lined plaza in Archidona seemed like the perfect spot to sit a spell
Heart 6 Comment 0
A look back up the hill, from the plaza
Heart 2 Comment 0
This statue with no name was in a small round-about that I circled twice before realizing my route was the small dirt road on the left
Heart 2 Comment 0
The smallest road today was dirt track - rough in a few spots, but offering nice views of Peña de los Enamorados
Heart 3 Comment 0
The larger A7282 had more traffic, but also nice views of Peña de los Enamorados
Heart 6 Comment 0

Though I'd planned my route to have ample time to explore Antequera, I had neglected to do any research/planning for my visit. Thus I flew right by the ancient burial grounds on my way into town, missing the Dolmen de Menga, described as “one of the pinnacles of flat architecture in European Prehistory.” And I stumbled across the Alcazaba of Antequera, but only after noticing the turreted walls and deciding to head uphill to investigate. My aimless but ever-upward route took me to the back of the Alcazaba, and though I could see people gazing from the towers above I could not figure out how to get in. After wandering around for a bit, I settled for a drink and perhaps some tapas at Bar La Socorrilla, which I'd passed on my way to the Alcazaba.

As I sat there, nursing my Kas Limon and musing about the lack of tapas on offer, I noticed a tour group heading up a side street. I followed, surmising they must be headed for the Alcazaba. And so they were. And, it turns out, so was I.

Plaza del Coso Viejo. You might be able to pick out the walls of the Alcazaba of Antequera at the top, just under the trees. It was something I failed to notice. And the entrance gate was only a modest walk up some steps from my hotel
Heart 4 Comment 0
Iglesia de San Sebastian and Torre de El Angelote, the bell tower
Heart 6 Comment 0
In the Plaza de San Sebastian
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heading upward through the street of Antequera
Heart 1 Comment 0
The southwest wall of the Alcazaba of Antequera
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Islamic Barbicans are antewalls located to the south and west of the Alcazaba that were built around the 12th century
Heart 6 Comment 0
The Islamic Barbicans
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Islamic Barbicans
Heart 4 Comment 0
Portichuyelo Chapel sits in what was once the historic center of Antequera and now provides outside seating for Bar La Socorrilla
Heart 4 Comment 0
I'm pretty sure that soft drinks in Spain come with tapas - but not mine
Heart 0 Comment 2
Betsy EvansWe found that free tapas were provided in Granada province, but not necessarily elsewhere. In Malaga province, I think the most we got with a drink was a few olives. But we found tapas to be inexpensive everywhere.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Betsy EvansThanks Betsy for a little clarification! It was the Tapas Tour guide in Granada who said it was a law that you have to serve some small amount of food with each drink, but it helps to know that applies only in Granada.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Over looking Antequera from the Alcazaba with the Torre de El Angelote, the bell tower of Iglesia de San Sebastian in the foreground
Heart 3 Comment 0
A lion at the gate
Heart 6 Comment 0
Patio de Armas and Torre de Homenaje
Heart 4 Comment 0
View over Antequera from the Torre de Homenaje
Heart 3 Comment 0
In the Torre de Homenaje
Heart 3 Comment 0
In the Torre de Homenaje
Heart 4 Comment 2
Keith AdamsAmmo for a trebuchet, d'you suppose?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Keith AdamsThat’s along the line of what I was thinking
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Along the walkway between theTorre de Homenaje and Torre Blanca
Heart 8 Comment 0
Torre Blanca
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Real Colegiata de Santa Maria, a Renaissance Church
Heart 3 Comment 0
Leaving the Alcazaba of Antequera
Heart 3 Comment 0

Finished with my short tour of the Alcazaba, I headed back down the hill in search of an open restaurant. It was only six pm, but I was hungry and hoped I might find someplace serving food. I checked in at a spot off Plaza del Coso Viejode – the kitchen was closed but they directed me to a place on Plaza San Francisco, a short walk. Wanting to explore some of the local fare, I ordered grilled Ibérico Lagarto, which turned out to be grilled strips of pork over slices of steamed potatoes with a little Romesco-like sauce on the side. I’ll keep exploring.

Going all in on Spain, I ordered a Mosta with mineral water. It didn't have the same pizzazz as what I sampled in Granada.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 238 miles (383 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0