To Éjica - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

April 7, 2023

To Éjica

After yesterday’s gravel adventures, I re-considered the various route options to Écija. Based on maps and other CB journals, these involved a choice between a few miles on either gravel or the A4 autoroute. Neither choice appealed to me so I plotted a somewhat longer but paved route to Éjica. My sore throat was persisting and I figured the extra five miles on pavement would minimize the amount of dust and dirt swirling around on what was predicted to be a windy day.

 The route took me southeast to Marchena on A-380, the Washington Irving Route. The traffic was minimal, almost eerily so.  Perhaps because it was Good Friday, but it seemed as if most of Andalusia was spending the day in Church, or at home with family. One thing that was out in force today was the wind, a steady 15 mph from the northeast with crosswind gusts that pushed me around and made me thankful for little traffic. The wind and the open agrarian landscape harkened back to my rides in Iowa and Kansas – and I was having a great time.

Vivien George has been enjoying her own lovely quarters in Carmona, on one of the lovely hotel terraces
Heart 8 Comment 0
Farewell to Carmona - note the flags blowing in the breeze
Heart 6 Comment 0
The Washington Irving Route winds through the farmlands southeast toward Marchand
Heart 5 Comment 0
On the way to Marchand
Heart 5 Comment 0
On the way to Marchand
Heart 6 Comment 0
On the way to Marchand
Heart 5 Comment 0
On the way to Marchand
Heart 8 Comment 1
Keith AdamsThat looks almost like how I imagine the Sand Hills of Nebraska.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
On the way to Marchand
Heart 6 Comment 1
Scott AndersonYou’ve convinced me, Susan. We’ve got to make it back here in the spring some year.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
On the way to Marchand
Heart 2 Comment 0
I could count on two hands the number of cars that I met during the seventeen miles to Marchand
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I wound through Marchand, I was keeping my eyes peeled for an open bar or café –  even the gas stations were shuttered tight on this Good Friday. Finally, near the edge of town, I found a small bar where I stopped for a Fanta and a water refill, enjoying some banter with a few locals gathered for a card game and beverage. I bid them good day and headed into the wind on A-364.

 The second leg of the route was similar to the first – empty roads and open, gently rolling fields in various stages of cultivation. The road gently climbed toward Éjica and after crossing over the A4 autoroute I passed through a light industrial area where I met the Rottweiler. He came bounding down the road from behind, surprising me and ignoring my commands to back off. But I quickly realized he meant me no harm, it was all about the chase. He raced after me as I sped downhill, almost getting hit by two passing cars – to which he also gave chase. After a mile or so, he gave out – panting alongside the road while I almost coasted into Écija.

The card game is about to begin
Heart 7 Comment 0
Guess which way I'm heading!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Same open, empty roads on the second leg of the route to Écija
Heart 3 Comment 1
Keith AdamsThat's *definitely* a "Great Plains" vibe...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
It almost looks as if there was a dusting of snow last night
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
A little variety for those of you tired of pictures of fields
Heart 6 Comment 1
Janice BranhamI'm not tired of any of this.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Maybe the lack of traffic on this highway isn't just a Good Friday phenomenon
Heart 7 Comment 0
I have no idea what the symbol means
Heart 2 Comment 2
Anne MathersThat looks like the cross of St. James.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vivien George takes a break
Heart 5 Comment 0
Fuentes de Andalucía to the north - which indicated how much further south my route to Écija had taken me
Heart 3 Comment 0

My lodging in Écija was in an apartment, so I stopped first at a small grocery in town for a few provisions. I’d been receiving WhatsApp messages all day from the host regarding arrival time and entry instructions – complete with photos and videos on how to get inside and turn on power to the modem. I was a bit chafed at the fact that he couldn’t meet me, given the price I was paying – it must have been one of the only options available when I booked. But of course I managed just fine.

 After fighting the wind all day I was pretty beat. I seemed to be developing a cold, so I just stayed put, ignoring the lure of the Paso and calling it an early night.

Entering Écija
Heart 4 Comment 0
One of the many photos sent by my host - this one indicating the window where the lock box containing the keys were. Oddly, he didn't send me the code to the lock box, I had to call him and get it verbally
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 594 miles (956 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetBeautiful photos today!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jacquie GaudetThank you Jacquie.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago