Mont Ventoux - Three, Two, One....Tour - CycleBlaze

May 6, 2023

Mont Ventoux

Many events and circumstances led me to this epic day and I want to spend a few words recounting the back story for my future self.

 As I’ve commented previously, I began cycling regularly about a dozen years ago and did not take up serious touring until after my retirement in 2017. Most of the first decade was spent cycling in flats of Iowa supplemented with yearly trips to Europe where I faced few serious climbs. I began to challenge my climbing self a couple of years ago on a tour through the Alps, where I experienced the satisfaction and joy of a hard-won ascent. I began to dream of greater heights, but feared I might be aging out of the epic climbs.

 Suzanne and I had originally planned a cycling trip in Germany for this spring, but were so swayed by Team Anderson's tales of the Luberon during their tour last autumn that we changed our destination to Provence. It was then that I began to think of Ventoux. Always up for a challenge, Suzanne agreed that our route include a couple of days in Sault to give us the option for an assault on the Bald Mountain, weather permitting. Over the past few months, and even up through yesterday, one or the other of us had wavered - but never simultaneously.

 Today, all of the “what-if” factors coalesced in our favor and we set off for the summit under ideal conditions. The weather was perfect  – sunny skies, temperatures in low-mid seventies, and most importantly, low winds, with maximum of 12-15 kph predicted for the summit at noon. We both felt physically and mentally strong, bolstered by the encouragement of others, and mindful of Rich Frasier’s advice to set an easy pace at the beginning.

Feeling strong and ready to roll
Heart 7 Comment 0

The Sault route is the easiest of the three routes to Ventoux, with fairly gentle grades until reaching the Chalet Reynard where it joins the route from Bédoin. Today it was magical, a glorious ride that wound up through the trees and occasionally opened to spectacular views of the valley below. I was amazed by the stillness - a quiet calm that kept me relaxed as we cycled long stretches with just the sound of the cuckoo, leap-frogging one another up the mountain. The winds were negligible, with perhaps an occasional light tailwind as we neared Chalet Reynard. My heart was singing as I climbed higher, realizing I would make it all the way to the top, even if it meant walking a bit.

A perfect day for a quiet little climb through the woods
Heart 7 Comment 0
Feeling great!
Heart 11 Comment 0
I took the herd of newly shorn sheep as a good omen
Heart 8 Comment 0
A designated view point seemed like a good opportunity to take a short rest and some photos
Heart 9 Comment 0
Oh, and here comes Suzanne
Heart 6 Comment 0
Still feeling great
Heart 8 Comment 0

Things got a little crazier after Chalet Reynard – the pitch steepened and we were joined by riders coming up from Bedoin. I took advantage of most of the pull-outs, while Suzanne pulled ahead on the final stretch. As I made for the final turn, a car forced me to the inside, which was the steepest part of a very steep curve. A huge burst of energy took me up to the concrete apron that covers the top of the mountain, but I had to stop to catch my breath - less than fifty yards to the summit. I could see Suzanne up ahead, camera in hand, but the remaining yards were too steep to cycle. Determined not to walk, I backtracked a short ways to a more level spot where I could remount and complete the ride. Yahoo – we did it!

Beyond Chalet Reynard, but still going strong.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Who needs to buy a picture from one of the may photographers lining the route to the summit? Not me. I'm with Suzanne, a real artist with the camera
Heart 17 Comment 7
Rachael AndersonWhat a great photo! We paid for the ones.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonI agree - Suzanne is an amazing photographer
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kirsten KaarsooWell done to both of you! Team Susan and Suzanne. I am glad you did it. Great photo by Suzanne.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Mike AylingThanks Mike!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jacquie GaudetChapeau from me too! Double for having your own photographer. I had to pay.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jacquie GaudetThanks Jacquie!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
No, I'm not walking the rest of the way - just taking pictures
Heart 8 Comment 0
A panoramic view - and we're not even at the top
Heart 4 Comment 0
The final stretch
Heart 8 Comment 0
Feeling like I'm on top of the world
Heart 13 Comment 9
Rachael AndersonWonderful photo! I can’t believe you got forced to the steep spot but I admire you backtracking so you could.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rich FrasierWoohoo!!! Fantastic! I’m so impressed! Congratulations!!!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kirsten KaarsooYou are on top of the world! Fantastic photo and day.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonI also can't believe the car didn't give way! It was crazy right at the end with cyclists, cars and pedestrians moving in both directions in a pretty tight space. Fortunately, I didn't have to back track too much as there was a small parking area/sidewalk that was relatively level
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kirsten KaarsooThanks Kirsten - it was great feeling, for sure!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich! And thanks for your encouragement and advice not to go out too fast.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Betsy EvansCongrats!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Keith AdamsAllez allez allez!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Keith AdamsThanks Keith!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

The summit was a sea of cyclists, all smiles and selfies. And we joined them. Remarkably, there was neither wind nor a summit sign at the top! We poked around the store/souvenir shop in search of memorabilia - Suzanne found a jersey from among the slim pickings and I picked up a hat. Suzanne tried to reach Janos to reassure him that we’d summited in fine form, but he was off on his own Ventoux (mis)adventure. I’ll leave it to Suzanne to fill in the details – I’ll just say he had quite the day and everything worked out just fine.

It took us a combined 154.5 years and a few hours to make it to the top
Heart 15 Comment 5
Scott AndersonWhat an awesome accomplishment, and great photos! You were lucky to get the conditions for it.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kathleen JonesCongrats to both of you! Wonderful!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonThank you Scott. I can't imagine that the conditions could have been any better - just ideal in every way.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kathleen JonesThanks Kathleen!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
No summit sign, but we are cheering anyway
Heart 15 Comment 0
Another hurrah - this one with bikes
Heart 14 Comment 0
Atop Mont Ventoux
Heart 5 Comment 0

The descent was my next challenge, for as much as I had wanted to climb Mont Ventoux, it was the descent that I most feared. And today the wind gods were kind. The top portion was a bit hairy, and I braked most of the way to the Chalet Reynard as other brave/crazy souls whizzed by. Thereafter it was a complete blast, with long stretches where I let loose the reins on Vivien George.

It was an extraordinary ride, one that was made even more special by sharing it with Suzanne.

Facing my next challenge - the descent
Heart 9 Comment 0
An extraordinary ride that I was lucky enough to share with this extraordinary woman. Thank you, Suzanne
Heart 7 Comment 0
The sweetness of shared success
Heart 14 Comment 4
Scott AndersonSo wonderful! I feel so proud and happy for both of you.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rich FrasierYou are two amazing people! A great accomplishment!!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kirsten KaarsooWhat a great photo of accomplishment and friendship.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
For technical reasons, this is a map of the route, not the ride
Heart 3 Comment 1
Keith AdamsThat happens to me once in a while as well. I've even had both RWGPS and my Garmin fail to record a ride, so posting the route has been the best alternative.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 965 miles (1,553 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Rachael AndersonI’m very impressed! I don’t think I could do it now with my breathing issues.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Patrick O'HaraChapeau! Well done!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Lucy Martin🎉 Hooray! 💪🏼
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Lucy MartinThanks Lucy!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Patrick O'HaraThanks Patrick!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Keith ClassenCongratulations to you both! Well done! A day to remember!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
David MathersCongratulations 🥳 Well done ✔️ Looks like the perfect day on the Giant of Provence!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Keith ClassenThanks Keith! It certainly was a memorable day
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo David MathersThanks David - I don't think we could have asked for more ideal conditions.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago