All my bags are packed - Two Wheels, One Heart - CycleBlaze

October 8, 2023

All my bags are packed

Balancing being prepared while minimizing what I carry

The Kona Sutra ready to go with the boys seeing me off
Heart 2 Comment 0

As the years pass, the number of items in my panniers decrease. My first bike tour on the Great Allegheny Passage and C&O Canal Trail saw me starting with 75 pounds and mailing home 25 pounds on day two. Subsequent self supported tours saw me carrying 50 pounds. In my 2020 tour I was down to 36 pounds. This year my goal is to carry 30 pounds.

I am a support person for a week-long bike tour. The ride director had an excellent comment to a question in a pre-tour webinar about how much you should pack. His answer was, “How much do you want to carry?” That is the question I ask myself as I plan and pack. 30 pounds makes for easier pedaling than 75 or 50 pounds.

The weather is looking pretty decent for the week, typical October in the Mid-Atlantic. Mornings in the 40s to 50s with the daytime temps in the 60s to mid 70s. October makes for a difficult month to pack. You need to be prepared for cool mornings and possible colder than forecasted days. Indian summer brings warm days with a wild card hot day. 

What I am taking but opted to not take the small laptop. Using the phone for journaling.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Over the years, I have honed my packing list and bike configuration. My goal is to take as few outfits as possible and do double duty with outfits worn both on the bike and in the evenings. Zoic Black Label mountain bike shorts and Columbia PFG vented UV shirts are my go to versatile touring outfit.

Configuring the bike is something I look closely at. There is danger in over packing rear panniers and risking breaking spokes. My goal is two rear paneers and a trunk bag for on the bike easy to reach items like the raincoat sunscreen and such. I packed and thought the weight was a little too heavy.

I debated adding two front panniers. I avoid front panniers since they make the bike a little difficult to steer. They also allow you to over pack and carry non-essential items. In the end, I decided to add a solo front paneer.

I am carrying about 32 pounds across the three panniers. I balance being prepared for whatever and minimizing the weight on the bike. I am happy with how the packing ended up.

Off to Pittsburgh later today for an overnight to catch the early morning Capital Limited to Washington DC.

Let's get this tour on the road

Tom on the Trails

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rick StoutDanger in overpacking rear panniers? Not if you have suitable wheels. I have done about 5000 miles with probably 30 lbs in each rear pannier and have never broken a spoke. When I rode the C & O in 2018, it was terrible. Mud and water everywhere.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago