Fourth 100-Mile Ride of 2024 - Title TBD - CycleBlaze

Fourth 100-Mile Ride of 2024

I decided to take the road bike out for a long ride on April 27th. Temperatures were mild, and the rain chances were small enough that I was willing to risk getting wet. The forecast for the wind, though, was not promising: 17 or 18 mph, out of the southwest as usual.

Still, I rode out early, with the hope that I could avoid the worst of the wind by the time I turned around and had a tailwind on the way back home.

Unfortunately, the headwind was already pretty terrible, even before 7:00 AM.

I fought it for 45 miles, all the way to Uniontown, population 907.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

It started to sprinkle as I rode into Uniontown, so I went inside Floyd's Supermarket and waited for the brief shower to pass while I purchased and ate some snacks.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Karen PoretIs Floyd an egg or a lightbulb?
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Jeff LeeI don't know, but I believe that's a miner's cap he's wearing. Uniontown is in the Western Kentucky coalfields, where coal mining is/was the major employer.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Heart 3 Comment 0

Back on the road, I headed south toward Waverly, population 297. The wind was now mostly out of the south, and it was brutal. I stopped for a while at the abandoned roller rink there.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I headed toward Sebree,  but the wind out of the south was becoming intolerable. I changed direction and headed toward Cairo, where there's a café that I like. I didn't have anything to eat, and was feeling the onset of a bonk. I was also annoyed that a song by a musician I detest, Billy Joel, had become lodged in my head. Early in the morning, before I rode out on the bike, my brother had texted me a link to a vicious, but accurate, takedown of Joel by a music critic whose tastes definitely aligned with mine. My brother is a big Billy Joel fan, and presumably thought I would find this amusing - and I did - but there was also a terrible side effect: One of the awful Joel songs, "Anthony's Song" became stuck in my head. It was worse than the headwind.

I eventually arrived to find the Cairo Country Café was closed for the day. I'd forgotten that they close early on Saturday. That was a major bummer.

The food situation was now desperate. I was 7+ miles from Robards, where there's a country store. I headed that direction, fighting the wind while becoming increasingly listless. I was bonking.

Heart 1 Comment 0
The most commonly misspelled word, by far, in my experience.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Karen PoretJust hope they don’t misspell your name ON the tombstone…Grammar errors in obituaries are a real thorn in my side. It’s not all “autocorrect”, either, sad to say.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Heart 0 Comment 2
Tim McNamaraHenry Helm Floyd ends up having been an interesting character. He served late in the American Revolutionary War and later served in the War of 1812, possibly ultimately rising to the rank of colonel, although his tombstone says Lieutenant. He was at the Battle of New Orleans. His grandfather immigrated from whales and died in Virginia, living to be 103; his father, Henry B he lived to be 97 also served in the revolutionary war. When Henry Floyd died, he owned a number of slaves and had eight children. I suspect all those businesses with the Floyd name are owned by family members.

https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Floyd-1102
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Jeff LeeTo Tim McNamaraHey Tim,

That's very interesting - thanks. I stop fairly often on bike rides and look at gravestones in cemeteries, especially cemeteries that are in improbable locations (like this one, on the side of country road in the middle of nowhere.) But I usually don't remember to look up the peoples' names when I'm off the bike. I should start doing that, sometimes anyway.

Thanks for reading,
Jeff
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived at the store in Robards, population 515, and immediately purchased several snacks and an ice cream cone.

That fueled me the 25-ish miles back home. I finally had a decent tailwind for the last part of the ride.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I write this, the next day, I'm still tired. The headwind really zapped me. This doesn't bode well for bike tour in a month and a half, but unless something drastic happens, I'm still planning to do it.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 0