Tsumeb to Grootfontein - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2022

Tsumeb to Grootfontein

No rest for the weary.  (That's me.)  After yesterday’s fiasco on the hill, I really wanted to take a rest day.  I felt I genuinely needed it.  However, with no electricity last night and learning it’s a frequent occurrence, I certainly my didn’t want to pay for another night and have a repeat.  Besides, my bed was hard.  My very sore quads did not appreciate me laying on my stomach because my quads felt like they were laying on plywood.  Not good for my sore muscles!!

I actually had a bit more elevation gain today than yesterday, but with the exception of one climb, they were all very gentle.  However, I could definitely tell I was dragging.  Not sure how much of it is me being out of shape and how much of it is from me being so sick.  I still have a bit of congestion and a cough first thing in the morning.
I just took it slow and was happy to see that even though I was on “C road” there were still pull outs/rest areas.  I took advantage of them.


The scenery was good again today, but it came to an end as I descended into Grootfontein and the flat lands.  I stopped at a gas station to grab a Coke Zero then headed straight to the guesthouse I had picked out.  Initially, the lady told me they might not be taking guests as they were heading into Windhoek, but I guess they decided I was harmless and I promptly booked in two nights Max, the husband joked that I was their dog sitter.  Their two dogs were very friendly and cute!


I eventually showered and walked back towards town to grab some groceries, but overall didn’t feel like doing anything.  I chatted with the couple I had met in Malmesbury and she gave me some great tips about the road ahead.  Most importantly, she told me that there is a medical clinic I can stay at in a couple of days and that is welcome news.  Otherwise I was looking at a 78 mile day which is too much for me.  Good to know I can split it up.

Heading out onto the open road
Heart 0 Comment 0
And this is why I can't correctly pronounce places in Africa
Heart 4 Comment 0
I loved the view riding towards this mountain.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Namibia has the best trees when the leaves are gone. The branches are so cool!
Heart 2 Comment 0
A more scenic Namibia. I enjoyed it and was surprised by the green hills.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The hillside by my last rest break. Can't complain about the view.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The whole place to myself. I can even whip myself up something in the kitchen...(it was french toast, bacon, and scrambled eggs.)
Heart 1 Comment 0
I think his name was "Spotty" or something like that
Heart 2 Comment 0
I think this one was "Coco." At any rate, friendly dogs
Heart 2 Comment 0
Found some colorful flowers while walking around town
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 2,657 miles (4,276 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Lednar De NallohYou really are pushing your comfort level to 'extreme' , much respect to you. Enjoying reading about it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Lednar De NallohDon’t I know it!!! About to go even more out of my comfort zone. Yikes!! Thanks for following along :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Donna carrEnjoy the reading I do notice in most pics the roads are quite
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Donna carrSometimes they are very "quiet" looking as I almost always wait for cars and truck to go by before I take my picture. But yes, overall, it wasn't all that busy so easy to time my photos without vehicles.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago