Grootfontein to Roy's Camp - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2022

Grootfontein to Roy's Camp

I thought I might take today off as well, but after spending hours trying to upload my pictures  to my blog last night, and it going slowly, I decided it wasn’t worth it to stay and “catch up on my blog.”  I didn’t make the final decision until this morning.  I thought maybe if I was fast, I could be in the road by 8:00.  Ya, so I left at 9:00, 😂 I wasn’t too worried because it was another shorter day and when I looked at the elevation profile last night, I was happy to see I had a steady downhill trend.  The wind picked up later, but coming more of a crosswind thank goodness!! That’s going to change to a full blown headwind in the coming days.

Not much else to report.  I was out in the middle of nowhere pretty much all day.  Still am with the exception of the well regarded campsite I am at.  It’s kind of a fun set up . I saw a dik-dik when I arrived.  So cute!
I’ve signed up for the buffet dinner which cost way more than I paid for camping.  What starving cyclist in their right mind would turn that down?!  Ha ha.  It also has good reviews.  The sad part is they don’t start serving until 7:00pm.  I’m going to be very hungry by the time dinner rolls around!

There is a waterhole here and I took the path to it twice, but not an animal to be seen.  After dinner, (where I ate entirely too much) he guy said it would be a good time to go.  He said it was too cold for snakes and scorpions and the electric fence keeps the big predators out.  I thought I might brave it, but took about 10 steps down the path (it's about 100 meters total), shined my flashlight around the pitch black bush and said to myself, "Who am I kidding" and promptly turned around.

Just me and a car now and then. Have you noticed this recurring theme?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some interesting trees made for a nice backdrop for a rest break
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here's another angle. :)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hope nothing is lurking in the bushes on the final approach to camp. Yes, these are the things I think about.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I type very fast. I learned back when teaching you proper keyboard placement with your fingers was a thing. I'm the speedy typist! These ancient typewriters reminded me how far we’ve come!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Swimming pool looks nice, but not quite hot enough for a swim
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hot spot seating area 😆
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice fire to warm up around before dinner
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 2,695 miles (4,337 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0