Tses to Gibeon - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

April 4, 2022

Tses to Gibeon

And there goes the bike

Back to the highway I go.  Another long day of riding ahead of me, but at least there's a town about 30 miles ahead.  Not really much in the way of pictures.  Today I hit tons of construction.  Multiple intervals of one lane being closed and the cars having to wait their turn to get through.  Lucky for me, that meant most of that section, I had about 1.5 lane width to work worth, so despite cars coming head on, it was actually decent riding.  Oh, and I got lots of smiles and waves from the construction workers.

Constructions lanes
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some nice looking hills way off in the distance
Heart 1 Comment 0
I think this is the downhill into town that you can make out in the distance
Heart 2 Comment 0

I stopped at the town, I use that word loosely, of Asab.  I had a friend who had stayed here so at least I knew there was a little store.  I also use that word loosely.  Not even a coke.  One sparkling apple soda of some kind and a cold water.  I asked about food as they seemed to be preparing something.  It was a round doughball thrown in a deep fryer.  I guess they refer to them as donuts.  Although nice and fresh, it did not taste like a donut.  I had lunch there before hitting the road again.  

Here's my general store. I recognize it from a picture in a friends blog.
Heart 1 Comment 2
DM Janse van VuurenThe doughnuts, I think, must have been what we call vetkoek (literally: fat cakes - slightly sweetened bread dough fried in oil). You'll get them all over in Namibia, also called Magwinyas, cheap, fresh and delicious :-)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo DM Janse van VuurenHey,
Sorry, I forgot to respond and am just catching up. I'll be on the road within the week if all goes as planned - maybe eating some more doughnuts! Ha ha. Take care!
-Kim
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Not much happening here so I asked if it was alright if I could bring my bike inside. That way, only my eyes are on it. I asked if I could use the bathroom before leaving and the girl said yes, but to wait a minute to make sure it was clean. Yep, they cleaned it up just for me.
Heart 3 Comment 0
As I was leaving town, I noticed this mule drawn cart. The picture doesn't show it, nor did I realize it at first, but there are actually four mules harnessed.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I eventually turned off the highway to get to the town of Gibeon that had a guesthouse, and was quickly greeted with a headwind.  I didn't realized it was 10km off the highway, but it is the only place to spend the night.  I'm tired, but I'll get there.  And then I hear a "snap."  Sounds like a spoke broke.  I see the wobble.  I check my spokes.  Yep, I broke one.  I am really surprised as I haven't broken one in years.  I release the brakes and keep going.  I know there won't be a bike shop in this town, but there's nothing I can do except get there and try to figure out how to get a ride to the next bigger town of Mariental.

I had called ahead to the guest house.  Good thing as it was deserted.  I find out later there are two guest houses in town.  It's actually quite nice and the lady is very helpful.  She is going to try and call ahead to a bike shop.  I can't even find one listed on Google maps.  She wants to see what is broken so she can explain it thoroughly.  I go to show her and "f*ck."  it's not a broken spoke.  My rear hub has broken where the spokes lace in.  Not good.

For the bikers interested, see anything wrong with this hub?! Uuuuuugh
Heart 1 Comment 2
Rich FrasierYeah, that's a bad one. It's a good thing you were so close to your destination for the day!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Rich FrasierHey Rich,
Yes, it has been a huge delay. So thankful for a place to wait it out and if all goes as planned, my wheel will arrive this week and I'll be back on the road shortly. Finally!

-Kim
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I message a friend.  I wonder if I am better off trying to get a ride all the way to Windhoek.  Doubt the shop in Mariental will have what I need.  As I'm thinking out loud in messenger about how best to proceed, the guy messages me back and says he is quickly trying to organize a ride for me to Windhoek.  My reply, "What??!! Wow!! Thanks you!!"  I am shocked.  I have chatted on messenger with this person, but don't know him.  He is a friend of the gal I started the tour with.  He actually joined her and another lady for part of a tour a few years ago.  At any rate, he has it all figured out and quickly helps coordinate the logistics.  I have a ride straight to Windhoek tomorrow and a place to stay!  (It's it's about 210 miles/340 kilometers to Windhoek.)  He and his wife will actually be away for a couple of days, but he says don't worry, my kids will let you in.

When I first realized my bike was out of commission, I wanted to cry, but I was much too tired and I needed to hold it together to make a plan.  Once things were finalized, I hopped in the shower.  Funny, after I felt much better and everything was coming together, the tears finally fell.  This is not going to be an easy fix.  More importantly, I am blessed that this guy, Herman, and his entire family went above and beyond to assist me.  This takes the term, "the kindness of strangers" to a new level.  Trust me, I'm finishing up this entry on April 23rd and I'm still with them and they have been incredibly kind, thoughtful and fun to be around.  I am extremely grateful and an incredibly lucky person!

Just as an fyi - long story short, no appropriate wheel hubs in Namibia or South Africa.  In part due to the pandemic and supply chain shortage.  I went back to my original wheel builder, Chris Murray at Elevation Wheel Company in Colorado.  A wheel is on the way to me.....

And finally, to update my last day of bike travel, I have a fantastic little cottage in this town.  I hear kids voices outside and go out.  It's very obvious they either saw me or heard about me and are standing around to see what they can see.  I waste no time walking over to them and saying hello.  I ask them all there names and ages.  All girls, except for one little boy.  I could tell I had made there day while I chatted with them so that in turn made me feel better.  It's probably better the little boy wandered off for the picture as it took me a few minutes to realize he was butt naked from the waist down.

Some curious kids. So cute!
Heart 6 Comment 0

I was laying on the bed and noticed bugs kept coming up from the seam between the two twin mattresses.  I'm thinking, "omg, are those bedbugs?"  I google pictures etc and compare.  Definitely not bedbugs.  Thank goodness,  that would have messed things up.  There's a few flying beetle creatures too.  As they ended up on my bed, I captured them and let them outside.  Finally, I get my sheet sack out, put my head on the other end, tuck the comforter down so no bugs can get to me from the other end, and call it a night.  I am really getting tired of bugs!

night
Heart 6 Comment 0

    

  

 

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 2,498 miles (4,020 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Lisa LindsayGood to hear you are doing ok and so blessed to have such kind people to stay with! And that you have a wheel on its way! Those kids are so cute ๐Ÿ˜Š. Great pictures. Hang in there! I am glad I can read your blog. Trying to catch up and hope you can get back on the road soon! Been working from home still doing Etsy and part of time watching my dad. He fell this week but heโ€™s ok, just needs to rest. Take care. Lisa
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Adam ZamoraSo it sounds like your trip is done. I really enjoyed following along. You certainly are fearless!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Lisa LindsayHey Lisa, better late than never (my response that is!)
Sorry, as you know things have been a little crazy. Sorry to hear about your dad. I'll be back on the road very soon! Can't wait to get back out there, but extremely thankful for having a safe place to stay while I wait out the minor fiasco.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Adam ZamoraHI Adam,
Thanks so much and I'm happy to say you are wrong. Ha ha. My trip isn't done, just been on hold. Uuuuugh. My wheel should be arriving any day now and if all goes as planned, I'll be back on the road later this week. Can't wait to see what more Africa has to offer! Stay tuned and thanks for following along!
-Kim
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Adam ZamoraTo Kim JohnsonI'm so happy to be wrong. I can't wait for you to get moving again!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago