To Hermanus (by car) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 1, 2022

To Hermanus (by car)

meeting up with Desiree and Penny

A Facebook friend, Desiree, had messaged me and offered to help me out when I arrived in Cape Town as she lives near there.  The plan had been for her to get my from Cape Town, spend the night at her house, then she would drive me out to Hermanus the next day to meet up with Penny.  Part of the plan happened, but then the plan changed.  We got to her house and she fed me a delicious lunch, but I ended up not spending the night and instead she drove me that day to meet Penny a day early.  I turned down a really nice bed and room, but it seemed like it fit her schedule easier as well to take me today.  We ended up driving the spectacularly scenic coastal route and Desiree was very knowledgeable about the areas we were driving through which was nice.  Penny and I are starting our trip just east of Cape Town so I will be able to ride some of the beautiful South Africa coast before heading north.  

We grabbed Penny from the campground and drove into Hermanus.  What a spectacular coast view Hermanus has.  We had fun taking some photos and then grabbed some ice cream.  Also stopped and grabbed some groceries and my first fish and chips of the trip.  So appreciative for Desiree's help.  Would have loved to had more time to visit her, but the show must get on the road.  Thanks again Desiree!

Later, Penny and I walked along the path down to the beach and watched the sunset while we visited.  Great to finally meet my riding partner in person!  

Since I arrived a day early, we had the next day to continue to chat in person which was nice.  Although Penny and I have been FB friends for three years, we have always just "exchanged" messages, never an actual conversation.  It was good to finally have a back and forth.  I did learn she likes to hit the road super early.  She wanted to leave at 7:00 am tomorrow, but I am still horribly jet lagged and first thing in the mornings are still extremely rough for me.  It's not suppose to be hot tomorrow so I suggested 8:00am as that is a compromise between her 7:00am start and my 9:00am start.

Tomorrow we hit the road with a chance of rain to welcome me to South Africa.

I was so excited to see Guinea Fowl by Desiree's house. My first "wildlife sighting"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hermanus view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Desiree and I
Heart 2 Comment 0
Don't fall!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hermanus coast view
Heart 1 Comment 0
And the flower photos begtin
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Penny and I
Heart 2 Comment 0
Where's Penny going?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Desiree, myself and Penny enjoying some ice cream
Heart 4 Comment 0
I gotta say, I love this shot!
Heart 1 Comment 0
First night's sunset at the campground. Night two was a dud.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I brought Penny new tires from Schwalbe in America.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I loved the cascading wave action!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I like the color yellow and all, but this is a bit much. There was a "swimming pool" in the ocean, but it was a bit too cold for me.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The campground kitty
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Deb SeversonFascinatiing! Looks like the ladies had fun also. Always nice to meet up with "strangers" you end up really liking.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Deb SeversonWell.......keep reading. Didn't quite work out as planned, but has been an absolute blessing in disguise!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago