Hanging out in Cape Town - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

February 27, 2022

Hanging out in Cape Town

My first glimpse of Africa out the plane window!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Despite my super comfy bed, I still feel exhausted.  Jet lag.  I messaged  Qatar airways site to confirm if/what plane my bike had been loaded on.  Got the generic message saying they were "tracing" it.  Umm, even I know they told me it had been left in Doha.  I was up ridiculously bright and early and enjoyed a leisurely breakfast which was included with my stay at Hotel Verde Cape Town Airport.  People, I just woke up in South Africa.  Things are getting real!  Actually, when I departed Seattle a few days ago, I had tears in my eyes.  The reality was that I was on my way to Africa for some exciting adventures!

I did get a phone call early in the morning saying my bike had arrived and they would deliver it.  I had already decided it would just be easier to stay at the hotel even though it's expensive in case my bike didn't arrive.  At least from here I can get back and forth to the airport.  Besides, the hotel confirmed I should absolutely not ride down to the touristy area of Cape Town as I would be robbed.  Even when I asked if I could walk over to the airport, the guy says I have a 50/50 chance of being okay.  I mean, it was daylight so probably I'd be okay.  No need to chance it so I took the convenient shuttle back to the airport to get money, some food, and an adapter so I can charge my stuff.

I was going to go take the cable car up the iconic Table Mountain, but Penny pointed out it would be packed since it was a Sunday.  I decided I would wait until tomorrow.  Instead I took an Uber to the V&A touristy area of Cape Town.   It was pretty crowded.

My first stop was where the boat leaves to go to Robben Island which has quite the history.  It's where the prison where Nelson Mandela and others were imprisoned.  They have a small museum so I learned a bit more abut apartheid.

The building/mini museum for the boat to Robbins Island
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The V & A waterfront. Full of cafes and shops
Heart 0 Comment 0

After watching the cute seals swimming in the harbor, I headed over and grabbed some food admiring the view of Table Mountain.  Tons of boats in the harbor next to a gigantic modern mall that was packed.  Got SIM card for my phone for ridiculously cheap. 

Table mountain framed nicely in the background
Heart 2 Comment 0

I grabbed some calamari and fish, plus fries and I hear a familiar song being played by a guy in the nearby courtyard.  I couldn't leave my prime table with a view, so after I was done eating, I did what any good fan would do asked him if he would play part of it again.  The original artist is Jonathan Roy who has become very popular in Canada.  I know of him because he was originally under Corey Hart's wing so he performed a few times with Corey.  (For those of you who don't know, I'm a huge Corey Hart fan.)  Never in a million years did I think I'd hear a JR song in South Africa!  The song is "Keeping Me Alive."  Google it.  It's great!

Found the Atlantic Ocean and took a walk along the boardwalk.  Definitely in my happy place.  I still need to pinch myself a little because I can't believe I'm here!   

Some nice flowers on the little jogging track around my hotel
Heart 1 Comment 1
Deb SeversonYour joy at being there is palpable. I love it. Such a wonder to travel....
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ummmm?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Really liked the colors
Heart 3 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesIt's a variety of Red Hot Poker (Kniphofia) which is in fact native to Africa but widely sold even here in Canada.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesSeems like an appropriate name. Thanks!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Are these “African” killer bees? They could be, ha ha
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hello!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hotel art. I rather like it!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hey, I’m jet lagged and liked these so I’m posting this decoration
Heart 0 Comment 0
Does this count as my first rhino sighting?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Umm a long way from home!
Heart 0 Comment 0
My second rhino sighting! 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
And yet, another rhino
Heart 1 Comment 0
So many boats!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Atlantic Ocean
Heart 0 Comment 0
And here we have my first lion sighting!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ummm, this is the “swimming pool”. No thank you!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Was I happy to see this bed after 40 hours of travel!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The next day I woke up to massive cloud cover so scrapped my plan to go to Table Mountain.  I was so disappointed!!!!  I would have stayed longer in Cape Town, but Penny is waiting for me.  So I just spent time relaxing at the hotel and repacking my stuff.  If I do end up flying out of Cape Town, I will definitely spend a number of days there on my way out.  Seems like there was so much to see and do.  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0