Strandfontein to Nuwerus - hitched a lift last 10 miles - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 13, 2022

Strandfontein to Nuwerus - hitched a lift last 10 miles

Hardeveld Country Lodge - two nights

And then there was one. 😂 I might have stayed in this cute seaside town, but it was thick with fog and mist.  No relaxing day by the beach for me.

On the road and so happy it’s pavement!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mom and baby
Heart 0 Comment 0

It ended up being a long day on my bike.  I had planned to stay in a town maybe 18 miles away, but when I got there, I learned there was no electricity or water.  I did however have a nice decent into the outskirts of town and a nice view across the valley.

I see a town in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0


A few tears had already fallen this morning over my frustration over how the situation with Penny unfolded and the uncertainty I now face.  I had cranked Bryan Adams new album to cheer myself up.  The thought of staying in this town seemed bleek.  All the locals were lined up at the store for supplies.  After grabbing a few things, I decided to go to Nuwerus.  It was a bit further than I was thinking with loads of hills.  After my “experience” on the dirt road yesterday, along with the headwind, my legs started to feel it.  I was out in the middle of nowhere again.  Only the cactus were missing! 😂. 

I thought this was blown down in a storm, but someone advised me it’s actually a new one being built
Heart 0 Comment 0
There was a “summer of 69” in Africa too :)
Heart 1 Comment 0

Eventually the road branched off and turned to gravel.  I vaguely remember hearing something about that. At least this was easier to ride than yesterday!  It was so beautiful!!!  I saw a bunch of sheep with black heads.  That’s different!

Sheep!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not going to lie, my heart dropped a little bit as I turned onto the gravel road and saw this
Heart 1 Comment 0
But so beautiful out there
Heart 2 Comment 0


Barely any traffic passed me, especially going my way.  I finally decided I should catch a lift with just 10 miles to go.  Good choice as there were still a number of hills to go.  I probably could have made it, but didn’t want to arrive completely wiped out.  

My ride. My bike has never shared a trailer with a cow before 😂 Beggars can’t be choosers!
Heart 3 Comment 0

I got dropped off and got directions to the guesthouse.  Getting a lift is common and somewhere I read to pay $1 per kilometer.  I went less than 20, but I was so thankful for the ride, I handed the guy $50!  I was going to camp as basically all rooms were taken, but the lady said the weather is suppose to be bad and was “thinking what she could do.”  She gave me the house even though people had used one of the rooms.  I only need one room myself and there were two others to choose from.  I’m a super lucky person!! Have a nice big room and met some great people.   She even discounted it because it wasn’t clean to her standards.  I’m staying tomorrow as well just to do some route planning.

Fey, the owner and very kind lady
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 2,035 miles (3,275 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Donna carrOMG this is great reading and well written. Yes a few bumps you are overcoming a few tears is fine!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Donna carrThank you Donna and glad your are enjoying it. Even though I'm always behind on my blog, it's good all the time and energy put into bring other people happiness. (And the memories and record of it are great for me too!)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago