Stone Town to Nungwi - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2022

Stone Town to Nungwi

I decided to save the extra day in Stone Town for on my way out of town so back on the road I go headed to Nungwi Beach area, the touristy end of the island.  It wasn't as flat as I thought and it rained people!  And when I say "rained" I mean an outright downpour.  Did help to cool it down briefly, then the humidity returned.  I took shelter under a gas station the first round, but the second round, I was caught in a village.  Luckily, some guys let me share space under there tarp and even offered me a seat.  They were selling fried chicken and french fries.  I thought about buying some fries until I saw the preparation process and lack of sanitation.   Instead, I thought better to just thank them profusely and wish them well.

What's wrong you ask? The Ice Cream shop is closed! :(
Heart 0 Comment 0
Storm clouds comin'
Heart 1 Comment 0
See how the pavement ahead is wet. I'm in the dry section.....but not for long!
Heart 1 Comment 0
My bike is now getting flooded out. I'm under some tarps in the rain along with everyone else trying to stay dry with the sudden downpour
Heart 1 Comment 0
Local children
Heart 2 Comment 0

I'm staying at the hostel tonight.  Rather disappointing overall although the owner was kind enough to drive me to the beach and pick me up.  (He does that for most people.)  Of course you have to run the gauntlet of souvenir shops before getting to the beach.  I had the dorm room to myself, but it just wasn't how I wanted to end my trip.  After a ton of research, I booked a nice cottage with amazing ocean views for tomorrow.  The Indian Ocean in case you were wondering. :)  Further from the action, but that'll be okay for a day.  The main beach is divine.  Nice white,  beautiful green colored water.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Thanks Keen for the tiger striped feet. But really, nevermind that, see the beautiful white sand!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 4,027 miles (6,481 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0