Rundu to Mukuku Rest Camp - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2022

Rundu to Mukuku Rest Camp

Finally camped on the Okavongo River, so I'll add a rest day

Yesterday I walked down to get my first glimpses of the Okavongo River.  That's Angola on the other side.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Again, why I can't pronounce anything correctly.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Why did the cow cross the road?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A boy at a rest area with his toy car
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very creative to fashion car wheels out of pop cans and bottle lids. I was impressed.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Apparently I didn't make notes about today's ride.  Not even on FB.  Also, it seems I didn't take a lot of pictures.  I had called ahead to the campsite owners because I had learned from other cyclists that the road was difficult and sandy.  Plus, I (am always) concerned when venturing from the main highway, if animals are going to be an issue.  I also feel better knowing that someone local is expecting me in case things go wrong since I am by myself.  The owners gave me instructions to turn on an  earlier road as it's a shorter route and the sand is a bit better.  Ansie, the wife part of the owner, texted me during the day to check in on me, but progress was slow because of the headwind.  I said I'd let them know when I reached the junction to turn.

I headed down the gravel road and it didn't seem too bad.  I had a couple of turn by turn instructions to follow and had made my last turn  and not too long after, I see a truck pull over and out jumps Hannes, the husband part of the owner of the lodge.  Apparently, I have some more turns and he wanted to make sure I didn't get lost.  I took the opportunity to unload my bike and throw all my gear in his truck.  Good thing!  He said he'd drive ahead and wait for me to catch up.  Talk about pressure to pedal fast!  Ha ha!  I got a solid cardio workout the last couple of miles!  I was so thankful he took my bags as I was able to go much faster.  There were still some sandy sections I had to walk through and had I had all my gear, it would have been much harder.  i thought about taking a room, but the campsite was so nice, I opted for that.  I arranged to have dinner later.  

The other thing that happened today is the dreaded squeak returned to my bike, but at least now I knew the problem.  The lady in Rundu had only put a drop or two of oil, but it was enough to stop the squeak so I thought I was good.  Nope.  I was kicking myself for not buying some lubricant event though I knew it wasn't perfect for my bike.  Luckily, Hannes had some and he sprayed the heck out of my rear derailleur and I'm golden once again.  Such a relief.  I have oil for my chain with me, but not a light oil for other parts.  I meant to fix that in Windhoek, but forgot.  I will definitely fix that in the next town with a decent bike shop!

Great campsite with my own private bathroom. Loved the decorative tiles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
They had a lot of guinea fowl around that were quite tame
Heart 0 Comment 0
After a delicious dinner with a couple of other guests, we sat around a toasty warm campfire. Yes, it's been getting a bit cold in the evenings.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I loved the gate that leads down to the river. I was hoping to spot a hippo, but no such luck
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some nice water lilies in bloom
Heart 1 Comment 0

I decided to stay a second night because I could and because I was so happy to be camped by the river.  And I'm in no hurry especially with the headwind.  Ansie and Hannes offered to take me out on a boat ride to look for croc and hippos on my rest day if the wind died down.  Luckily, it did and what a fun little excursion.

Although this looks like a nice scenic picture, there is actually a little crocodile in it. (At the top left of the pond area.) My first wild crocodile sighting in Africa!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hannes and his wife Ansie, friendly owners of the lodge/campsite
Heart 1 Comment 0
Termite mound in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks like a nice little path. I wouldn't recommend taking it! Hannes actually offered to drop me a little bit further on the shore so I could circle around and he'd get an "action shot." I passed!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Could you find this guy in the previous pic? I promise, there is a lot of camera zoom happening for this shot! I definitely stayed on the boat!
Heart 1 Comment 0
There was a lot of action happening near the river. I can't imagine doing laundry and bathing in a river that has crocs. I mean, you did see the teeth on that last pic, right?!
Heart 1 Comment 0
It's the locals way of life. Here, school children are waiting to get shuttled across the river from the Angola to Namibia side in preparation for the school week ahead. Hannes and Ansie gave a bunch of them a ride.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The remaining took this mode of transportation. Again, just unbelievable to me that this is their way of life.
Heart 1 Comment 0
All aboard!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The rest of the kids getting shuttle across a few at a time. After seeing that big croc, I'm thinking, "We're going to need a bigger boat!"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back to Namibia and asked for a picture. They seemed happy with that request.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not far from where we dropped the kids off, cattle made their way down to the river for a drink.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

So thankful I got to go on a boat ride and witness a little bit of the local way of life.  Although I didn't step foot in Angola, I did hold on to reeds as we were keeping the boat close for croc pictures.  Does that count as having visited the country?  Ha ha.  I think not.

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 2,825 miles (4,546 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesIt certainly is eye-opening and sobering about how folks live compared to us in the US. Makes you think, doesn’t it? I was on the continent 30 years ago and it looks like some things haven’t changed (e.g., the canoes, the kids’ ingenuity in making toys) but I think cell phones have changed things a lot for them - access to info. Have you seen that?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Kathleen JonesWe were just talking about this last night. Just because I was lucky enough to be born in the US, I have so many privileges and opportunities that I take for granted. And yes, when I was passing through an area in Namibia, one of the owners mentioned that although the people are barely surviving, they all manage to have cell phones. Should mention they are very old models/basic cell phones for the most part!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago