Rundu - rest days - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2022

Rundu - rest days

At this point, being so behind on my journal, let's just say I had some bike problems that needed addressing, ie shifting and a squeaky noise.  I was directed to Cymot where the guy actually made it worse.  I gave him four tries to get it back to where to where I could shift to all three chainrings, but to no avail.  I had specifically asked him if he knew what he was doing as I was hesitant.  I told him, I'd rather him leave it alone if he wasn't sure.  Instead, he made it worse I just told him to stop.  I left in tears because bike mechanics is not my strong suit.

I went back and watched Youtube videos then called a friend in South Africa.  He actually walked me through everything, but I didn't quite have the adjustments right, but I understood better.  I watched the videos again and made notes and tried again.  Success!  Yours truly actually fixed my front derailleur!

In the morning, I went to the secondhand bike shop and they determined it was actually my rear derailleur and I just needed some oil.  They barely had a drop, but it stopped the squeak.  At least now I know how to adjust the front derailleur so I'm happy about that.

The shop was next to a kindergarten class so I asked the teacher if I could stop in.  I visited with the teacher and said hi to all the kids.  Kind of a neat experience just to see how things are different here.

The secondhand bike shop
Heart 0 Comment 0
These boys raced me rolling the tire as I pulled in
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ummmm, I hope I never see a “duck”’like this his
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cute, but took a lot of effort to get them to smile
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just going down the path by themselves, but then I saw a man jogging to catch up
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 2,786 miles (4,484 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0