Pottery Lodge to Kanyeda - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2022

Pottery Lodge to Kanyeda

Just short of the goal, but stopped early

Surprise, I pushed on today.  I had considered taking another day off, but the food was expensive and after my pizza fiasco last night, and then immediately sinking to the planks under the mattress, I wasn't all that impressed anymore.  

I stopped 10 miles short of my goal of Ngala Beach.  I was tired and I just figured I'd take a cheap room for the night, have a bed to sleep in, and just finish the 10 miles casually in the morning.  I'll be camping there as I know the rooms will be too expensive so I think this was a smart decision.  Oh, and I'm sure rest days are involved too.  I hear it's really nice!

Nice ride today and I passed through a corner of a wildlife reserve.  Saw monkeys and baboons.  Wanted to stop for lunch as it was beautiful, but not after I saw the baboons.  They might want to join me and eat my lunch.  Besides, there are no guarantees an animal didn't escape although there was a big electric fence.

Oh, and I had a bug nightmare today.  I don't know how all the school kids were walking along casually as there were millions!  I quickly put on my sunglasses, closed my mouth, and as I headed down a slight downhill, was just engulfed in them!  Disgusting as I could feel them hitting me.  One of those moments on a bike tour I could do without!

Downhill and a nice view
Heart 1 Comment 0
Road conditions are not the greatest. Very narrow.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped at a stand to ask about cold water and a crowd gathered. They were very enthusiastic for my second picture.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is nice
Heart 1 Comment 0
The scenery is very enjoyable - and green!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was positive wild animals were just behind those tall grasses waiting to pounce if I stopped
Heart 0 Comment 0
Who is the genius that put three sets of rumble strips on either side of the bridges? Especially annoying as I lost all speed for the climb on the other side. (I later learned from lodge owners, that the faster you go over them (at least for cars) the less bumpy they are. So much for slowing people down.)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oh no! Baboon gauntlet ahead on an uphill! They scattered as I approached thankfully!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Well, I didn't center this well. I was in a rush! Baboon, bottom center and one on the move on the right side
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bridges really are one laners!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sugar cane and some flowers
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sugar cane load.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think I only saw a couple of trucks
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sugar cane fields
Heart 0 Comment 0
Notice anything wrong with this picture? Like the missing bridge railing on the left!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
It'll do for $8.00 US, although I did request a mosquito net!
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bucket of warm water arrived and I'm all cleaned up. I had to switch rooms as the water was leaking in the other from the sink. An added bonus is that this one has a toilet seat. It's the little things....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oh people, I'm not the only one who appreciates my toilet seat, ha ha. So does this baby frog. Ribbit ribbit.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The place looked cute and promising from the outside.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 3,739 miles (6,017 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0