Ngala Beach to Mzuzu (via car) + an extra day off - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2022

Ngala Beach to Mzuzu (via car) + an extra day off

I got a ride to the city of Mzuzu from Trish and Dan, the owners of the lodge.  They had to make a grocery run and that's the closest city.  Although I was a bit disappointed to miss a couple of likely great places along the lake, the climb out of Nhkata Bay would have killed me.  A huge climb with a number of steeper sections.  However, I had such a great time enjoying my break I figured I could miss some beach sections at this point.

I stayed at a Warmshowers host tonight, but they were heavy smokers so that wasn't too pleasant.  I also needed groceries myself so I decided to grab a place in town.  And finally, I needed to get a visa extension and get my bike pump fixed again.  Happy to say the visa extension went well and I wasn't asked for any money.  (It's suppose to be free, but I heard they will try to charge me if because they can.)  All set to hit the road to Rhumpi tomorrow.  There's one place to stay about 1/2 way if I am dying.  A little worried about the hills as I have been off my bike for two weeks and I hear the first part is hilly.

To avoid a little hill, my hosts told me to take this path. I love shortcuts and this one was pretty witht he flowers.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some other cyclists told me about this guy and my hosts concurred. His name is Blessings and he was able to fix my bike pump. This time I went with a new O-ring and that seems to have done the trick.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 3 miles (5 km)
Total: 3,752 miles (6,038 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0