Mzuzu to Rhumpi - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2022

Mzuzu to Rhumpi

Welcome back to biking with 43 hilly miles.  Thankfully, more down than up, but my legs are tired.  Beautiful scenery today, but my heart wasn’t in it.  I think I am officially burnt out on cycling for now — especially with the challenges Africa brings.  Heading back to Lake Malawi tomorrow.  I thought I had a lot of climbing again tomorrow but maybe I’m just one ugly hill.  Otherwise, downhill is the word of the day.  

It didn’t quite go as planned, but in a decent hotel even if I do have to be very tricky to get to the toilet. I have to push the door to the toilet, then suck in my stomach so I can push the door back so I can sit. 😂 Speaking of toilets, I stopped at a school today thinking I saw bathrooms.  They said I could use it, but then they were further back.  I asked if they were sit down toilets and was told yes.  Imagine my shock when I opened the door, a couple of lizards scurried away and the toilet was a cement floor with a pretty small square hole in it.  Umm, nope. I closed the door and since everyone was staring at me, I said I would go in the bushes later 😂

Rhumpi is off route a few miles, but the ride to it was actually pretty nice.  Very scenic.  Was nice to see a river as well.  I had a place picked out, but when I stopped there, I saw the tail of rat scurry into a hole on the outside of the building.  The room was okay and the people were friendly, but I was still a ways out of town and I appeared to be the only guest.  I felt kind of bad, but I decided to head into town.  I was able to find a nicer hotel and on my way to it, I noticed a very similar name to the one I had picked out.  That was the one I had been planning on staying at.  At this point, I was just happy to have something clean and hey, the building are all bright pink.  What's not to love?!

I thought the hat was a nice touch. For the locals, it's a little cold out today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I never have to feel bad about a hill climb when the cars/trucks are struggling to get up. There was actually a back up of trucks, but I couldn't quite get my camera out in time
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
After my failed bathroom stop, I pulled off onto a dirt road and found a peaceful place and enjoyed a longer lunch break. Pulled out my chair and everything.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was worried people would materialize, but I was mostly hidden from the highway and had the place to myself. (A rarity in Africa.)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heading towards this mountain for my detour to Rhumpi
Heart 0 Comment 0
Thank God the road turned right at the base of this
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Quite a scenic road to my overnight stop
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm pretty sure this is quite the welcome sign the prez would use to welcome visitors
Heart 0 Comment 0
A nice river view
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 3,795 miles (6,107 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0