Livingstone Adventures, Part II - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2022

Livingstone Adventures, Part II

The only way to see the falls

I went on an adventure today.  Since I decided not to do the Canyon Swing, (and I've already done bungee jumping so wasn't interested in that) I decided to spend a lot of dollars for 15 minutes of incredible fun!  Well, technically, I've known all along I would likely do a helicopter flight or this.... a micro flight over the falls. 

It did not disappoint!!  So cool to see the falls, river island and everything from above.  Also got in an aerial safari as we flew over a park.  Who knew?!  Saw elephants, hippos, a croc, zebra and impalas.  15 minutes went by way too fast (but he says he gave me a few extra minutes because he was keeping their helicopter company.)  As a side note, the helicopter required two people so rather than try and tag along with someone else (awkward) i just decided this was more my kind of fun anyways.

The safety briefing involved reading a sign.  Basically, the big rule was nothing extra with me, no cell phones or cameras allowed.  Of course I would have had to pay a lot extra for their video so I just tried to take in all in and be in the moment.

It was weird with only a pretty typical seatbelt as the only thing holding me in!  I think I was expecting a full harness of some sort.  I straddled the pilots seat, (which was less than comfortable) had two little metal roll bars for my feet to rest on, but there was no where to put my hands.  I confirmed I should not wrap my arms around the pilots neck in a panic, ha ha.   So ya, my hands just rested in my lap or dangled from my side.  Okay, at one point, the pilot had me stick my arms out and flap them. :) 

Safety briefing
Heart 0 Comment 0
All aboard
Heart 0 Comment 0
Him: the volume adjust is on your left headphone Me: I reach up to the right, ha ha
Heart 0 Comment 0
Peace out!
Heart 0 Comment 1
Debbie MooreThat looks like so much fun!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
And we have lift off
Heart 0 Comment 0
Byyyyyyyyyyye
Heart 0 Comment 0

I love extreme sports so this wasn't too scary for me other than when I thought, "I'm basically flying with a lawn mower engine."  Ha ha  When I was young, I skydived and had 42 jumps under my belt.  This is easy!

From the air you can see how wide the falls really are.  Incredible.  Also, after the falls, the rivers zigs and zags through a canyon which I had no idea that was how it flowed.  It was pretty cool looking.  We flew over the Zambezi river and after we saw the animals, I was just thinking, "Please don't crash in the river."  Never mind that I'd likely be swept over the falls, I was worried about the crocs and hippos!  #Priorities

Victory! We made it back alive!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Two thumbs up!! Super expensive, but a once in a lifetime experience!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0