Livingstone Adventures, Part III - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2022

Livingstone Adventures, Part III

Just when I think I can't get any luckier, I do!  I've been staying at Fawlty Towers hostel and have enjoyed my time here.  (BTW, I checked out Jolly Boys hostel and imo, this one is way better.)  There is a lady that's been here all week.  Her name is Bantu and she decided to work on the road as a Digital Nomad.  Has been fun hanging out with her although try as I might, I didn't convince here that Hungry Lion (as opposed to KFC) was the better chicken fast food restaurant.

Another gal arrived and the three of us went to the Royal Livingston Hotel for a drink.  It's a very fancy, way out of my budget, hotel.  I had heard about this from another cyclist.  You can go in, have a drink, and enjoy the nice river views and sunset.  Boy oh boy, were we in for a treat!  She met a lady by the bar who made a point to come back and get us to tell us there were giraffes and zebras at the other hotel.  (Two hotels share the same grounds and the grounds are huge.)  Some garden guys surprised us and let us feed the giraffes!!  Gross (have you seen a giraffe's tongue?) and amazing at the same time.  We tipped them well.  Zebras, impalas, and monkeys were wandering around too.  Fun afternoon with fun people.  

I did end up taking the next day off to get more organized.  I also purchased a couple more months of travel insurance.  Would you believe I am catching a slight cold again?

The river drop to Victoria Falls in the distance and the mist/spray from the falls. Cheers!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Enjoying time with new friends. Cheers again!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bantu and I
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
What can I way? First, my outfit color coordinates quite well with the giraffe, and second, thanks giraffe for cooperating and looking at the camera
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Double trouble. I actually got to pet the giraffe on his nose. The baby too, but he wasn't so thrilled about it which is probably why they said not to. Ooops
Heart 0 Comment 0
The food and drool is falling out of his mouth. Messy eaters, these two!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fun times!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Despite just feeding this giraffe, he appears to be sticking his tongue out at us. Ungrateful, ha ha
Heart 1 Comment 0
Well, hello there!
Heart 1 Comment 0
How cool would it be to stay at this hotel and have a giraffe at your balcony?! It'd be great, but I got a pretty incredible experience without the price tag.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0